Egusi Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
wonderful recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Delicious. Very authentic and spicy. Everyone loved this dish...will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I loved this dish. I made it as written and made no changes. I was able to find the Equsi seeds at my local Africian store. My 9 year old enjoyed it also she ate 2 bowls served over rice. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Egusi Soup is the bomb; I make it without seafood and add fresh ginger in the blender with the habanero peppers and garlic; I tenderize my onion and add my sauce, then simmer my sauce until thick, then add my precook meat, ginger and garlic to sauce and serve with FuFu or rice and my friends beg for more; it is truly a great dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Good recipe. I am vegetarian so I used morningstar crumbles instead of meat and seafood. Cooking time is drastically reduced. If you use this method, you will want to put the crumbles in after the sauce and heat no more than 10 minutes. Also, I chopped the spinach in a food processor and I used olive oil instead of peanut oil. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I did not like whole pumkin seeds in the soup when I made it the first time. I made changes to this recipe when I made it the second time by grinding the pumpkin seeds in a blender by itself with a little bit of water and one egg. I cooked the seeds separatly and then added it to the soup as the last step after the spinach cooked down. Speaking of spinach I found that the raw spinach is headache and time consuming. I used frozen chopped spinach and it was a great turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Very good! I lightened the soup up a little (less oil and meat) and it made for a great, spicy soup. Would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Perrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This recipe is AUTHENTIC, Egusi is eatten all over West Africa, this is the Nigerian version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
The recipe itself was good. HOWEVER, it's not authentic. My husband is from Cameroon, Africa...so I wanted to make this one night as a surprise for him...and he didn't even recognize what it was. I asked my sister-in-law over the following weekend to show me how to make real egusi soup...and it's NOTHING like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
great soup its best served with pounded yam ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States