Egusi Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Interesting flavour, not sure I would make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalynn Sinnamon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Recipe is pretty authentic and taste good to my Nigerian husband. We like it spicier so I do not remove the seeds from the peppers. He also likes for me to mix the grounded melon seed with an egg..make it adhere better and not so grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I alter mine a little bit as I am allergic to peanuts. I mainly use chicken when I make egusi and even my stepkids love it. This dish is a great introduction to Nigerain food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I think this was a great basic recipe but I had to make a few changes. First, I cut the tomato sauce completely because I didn't want such a strong tomato taste. It's very important to grind the pumpkin seeds down VERY VERY fine, or else it will have a weird grainy texture. I added a beef bouillon cube to the pot, along with dried shrimp (If I had dried fish, I would have added that too). I also added a little bit of garlic salt, onion powder, and Italian seasoning. I also let the soup cook down for about 40 mins, and then I added more peanut oil to dry up the water. When it was finished I served over white rice. All and all I'd have to say that this recipe did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Being Nigerian, this has to be one of my favorite soups. :) :) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This is an interesting recipe. When I made it, it tasted noting like what my mom makes. The pumpkin seeds taste completely different from the actual egusi seed. I used palm oil instead of peanut oil and chicken instead of shrimp. But as always, the plantain puts a perfect touch =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
very good recipe, I use Egusi seeds and palm oil i have a African market about a hour away . also magi cubes cant live without magi .. I also boil my meat first using the water from the meat to make my stock . I love west African food which is good since my husband is Nigerian .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Acton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
wonderful recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Delicious. Very authentic and spicy. Everyone loved this dish...will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States