Eggy Veggie Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MRSMATLIKRD
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
I wanted a breakfast casserole without all the bacon and sausage and this was fabulous! I used yellow squash and added some thin-sliced carrot strips to add more color. I added about 1 tsp of minced garlic when sauteing the veggies, and for those that aren't big on "to taste" directions, I used 2 tablespoons for the lemon juice and Worcestershire sauce, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp pepper, and 1/4 tsp garlic salt. Had to drain a little extra liquid off the top when it was done cooking, but it cut and served beautifully! It was a big hit with my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSMATLIKRD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
We really liked this--kind of like a quiche without the crust. The Worcestershire sauce adds great flavor. My only change was to add a little mayo to the eggs to make them creamy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
This is a delicious, versatile recipe. First time, I followed recipe exactly. Since then, I've altered it to use all my left overs - cabbage, broccoli, carrots and bell peppers. You just can't go wrong with this. What I love about this is, it doesn't rely on heavy meats and cheeses for flavor. Combo of lemon juice and Worchestire sauce is very savory. Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
Very yummy. I used mushrooms, zucchini, yellow squash, & onions. We loved it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hmstarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherry Point, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
Tasty, easy, and healthful. I used the recommended veggies, whole eggs (beaten) instead of egg substitute, and sharp shredded cheddar. Egg substitute would have been healthier, but I didn't have any. We liked the lemon juice/worstershire flavor, but also could imagine seasoning the veggie saute with herbs de provence or just play with different seasonings. It's a wonderful template for a quick, filling supper or breakfast. Thanks for a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I modified this recipe quite a bit with the veggies, but I followed the other ingredients closely. We thought the worcestershire made the vegetables taste funny. Might make again without it and substitute a different sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
the combination of worchestershire and lemon juice was so dominant that's all you could taste. i would never make this recipe again. such a disappointment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunnywalk

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
I thought this recipe was pretty good. The only problem I had is that after I finished cooking the veggies there was a lot of juice in the pan. I didn't bother draining it because the instructions didn't say to. The result was soggy eggs. I thought it was still pretty good, although could be 5 stars next time by draining the veggies before adding them to the 8x8 pan. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Nice & easy recipe, I used lots of green onions and green peppers in the veggie mix as well--you don't have to follow the recipe exactly, just put in whatever you like! Real eggs are good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I bought a GTExpress about 6 weeks ago and thanks to this recipe, it has now made an appearance out of the kitchen cupboard. I didn't have egg substitute, (haven't seen such a thing here in Scotland) so I used fresh eggs, it was a brilliant Saturday morning/afternoon brunch. Thank you for sharing. Sylvia446
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sylvia446

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Ratatouille Bake

Vegetables and cheese ravioli are baked in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States