Eggs Benedict Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
I use a much easier recipe for hollandaisse at our restaurant. We add the egg yolks, pepper (cayenne) and lemon juice in the blender. Heat the butter in the microwave until bubbly, then add slowly to the yolk mix. Very easy. you can also use wine to stabilize your egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1071 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
I wanted to share a time saving hint that I saw on a cooking show. You can poach your eggs in advance then remove them from the boiling water and place them in a large bowl of ice water, make sure you have plenty of ice in your bowl of water. You can let the eggs stay in the water while you prepare your other ingredients. When you are ready to assemble your eggs benedict simply remove the egg from the ice water and put it back into your boiling water for just a few seconds until it gets warm enough to serve. You will be able to have a number of eggs ready on a moments notice using this method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
780 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
Just delicious. Toast your muffins just golden, not too crispy or it makes the Eggs Benedict hard to eat in my opinion. An easier way to make Hollandaise is in the blender. Place egg yolks in blender with the lemon juice (1 tablespoon is what I use) and other seasonings, turn blender on high speed for 5 seconds to blend. Melt butter in microwave until completely melted and hot. Turn blender back on high speed and gradually pour in butter. It will thicken into a beautiful yellow hollandaise in 20-40 seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
488 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Excellent! And I tried all the various versions suggested by other reviewers. The blender method makes it easier and faster, but the double boiler method tastes less eggy and the heat blends all the flavors together very well. Another advantage to making the sauce on the double boiler is that you can keep it hot till you are ready to serve. The key to using the double boiler is to make sure the water is only simmering (not boiling) and NOT touching the bottom of the sauce pan. (I used key limes instead of lemons, and added a couple of extra drops of Worcestershire sauce (to taste).) Combine the eggs, lime/lemon juice and Worcestershire sauce in a separate bowl before pouring into the double boiler. Then KEEP WHISKING, DON'T STOP, even after the last drop of butter has been added, keep whisking till everything is smooth. Making this receipe is like conducting an orchestra. Prepping is key. I started with the bacon then popped it into a warm oven. I also put heat-safe breakfast plates in the oven to warm them up. I made the sauce, then when that was done, I took it off the double boiler and set it aside. Then I popped the English muffins in a toaster oven (on light toast), then used the water in the boiler to poach the eggs. Stir up the sauce while the bread and eggs are cooking. The bread and eggs should be done simultanously. I garnished with a sprinkle of Hot Hungarian Paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
278 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
My boyfriend considers himself an "eggs benedict connoisseur" - he always orders it when we eat out for breakfast and will send it back if it isn't to his liking (he always feels bad about it though!). I decided to try and make it for him since he likes it so much but was intimidated because I always thought it would be hard. I saw this recipe, reviewed it and decided it was something I could do - he LOVED it! And he wasn't just saying that because he loves me :) He suggested that we buy a double broiler since I had to improvise on the hollandaise sauce and he wants me to make it again! YUMMY! Thank you for such an EASY and DELICIOUS recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MakeItBlog

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
This recipe's hollandaise sauce was just way too lemony for our tastes. My kid's couldn't even eat it!!! Cut the lemon juice down to about 2 teaspoons and it will probably be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
Perfect recipe. Although I've made Eggs Benedict before, I'd never used a recipe for the Hollandaise sauce- I just used an old method my mom used. This had just the perfect amount of lemon (we like it very lemony). Poaching the eggs was a little tricky- I just broke each one into a small bowl before sliding it into the water... was a little easier that way. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
One of my favorite yearly treats is eggs benedict which I reserve for our Sunday before Christmas brunch with our friends. This year I felt a little ripped off, being that for the first time, the eggs were overdone and the sauce was bland. So, I decided to try making this dish myself. I was a little intimidated at first, but the eggs really turned out delicious as well as the sauce. Be sure to add the vinegar to the water as it really helps hold the whites together. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
Hubby requested this for supper. I came to this site and was not disappointed. Followed the recipe exactly. Unlike others, I did not find the sauce to "lemony". This is a super recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HDEDEAST

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
Perfect hollandaise sauce! First time it did not turn out too runny nor too thick! I cut the english muffins in half instead of using them whole. REALLY good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggs Benedict

Make any brunch special with eggs Benedict--complete with homemade Hollandaise.

Eggs Benedict with Smoked Salmon

Eggs Benedict gets a tasty update with smoked salmon and rye bread.

Chef John's Eggs Benedict

See how to make a classic brunch dish with poached eggs and hollandaise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States