Eggs Benedict Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by The Q
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I crashed and burned on this one the first time I made it. The lemon over powered the sauce. I was determined, so I tried again this week and used a half of a lemon. That was the trick. I am wondering if the different varieties of lemons are the reason there are mixed reviews on how much lemon works. Half works great in my case. I also recommend using an egg poacher rather than fighting a bunch of eggs together in a pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I have never tried eggs benedict before (at least not that I remember). I thought it was good, but kind of bland. All I could really taste was the lemon in the sauce and I reduced it as recommended by others. It didn't taste much different than the egg sandwiches I make every morning, but more work and calories. My boyfriend is still asleep and he is the one I made it for. Will post his opinion later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hanniuska
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
It took me much longer to prepare compared to the time it took my husband to eat them.He loved them!!!! the only thing I switch was the English muffins(I had ran out)and used toasted white bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanniuska

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Madrid, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
too much lemon juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This is very good..but my secret to buy egg mcmuffins and use knorr powdered hollandaise mix adding lemon juice milk n butter to mix..plus i like mine really thick..i use country style ham for much more ham flavor..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Beasley
Home Town: Cullman, Alabama, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
We always have eggs benedict when we travel but never tried it at home. I must say that the video was excellent and helped a lot with the prepartion. However, the recipe itself calls for way too much lemon. I couldn't eat it after a couple of bites. I would recommend cutting down the lemon juice to 1/4 of what the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Great instructions, I was afraid of poaching eggs before, but I feel I nailed it the first time. Unfortunately I think the sauce had a tad too much lemon. Next time I will adjust down to 2 Tbs. After making this I looked around and most recipes call for 1-2 Tbs. It didn't ruin the dish, but it wasn't as great as it potentially can be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I love eggs Benedict I order it every time I eat breakfast out. When I made this recipe, just for myself because no one in the family is a fan. It was the 3rd recipe that I was working on for the day and I guess because it was just for me it never comes out right! Of course the Holland sauce curdled... It came out so bad that I did not even want to take a picture! but I know the next time it will come out right!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I made this using the NuWave cooktop. You can omit the double-boiler when making the Hollandaise sauce if you set the cooktop to low (175 degrees) and use a small saucepan. Also, if you have a modern toaster oven, you can prepare the ingredients from the bottom up and keep them warm in the toaster oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggs Benedict

Make any brunch special with eggs Benedict--complete with homemade Hollandaise.

Eggs Benedict with Smoked Salmon

Eggs Benedict gets a tasty update with smoked salmon and rye bread.

Eggs Benedict Casserole

Baked breakfast casserole with English muffins and Canadian bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States