Eggs Benedict Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Too lemony for us - next time I'll try cutting the amount of lemon in half. My mom suggested using tarragon too. Easy to make for a first timer like me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Wow was this good! I followed the recipe just about exactly, except I made it for 2 servings instead of 4. I also cut the butter in half for the hollandaise sauce and substituted the other half with vegetable oil. I took the advice of the other reviewers and prepped adequately first! All the pots and pans were ready, makeshift doubleboiler heated up (sauce pan with stainless steel mixing bowl sitting in it but not touching the water), and used deli ham instead of canadian bacon. Also, toasted the muffins instead of using the boiler. The sauce thickened up nicely as I left it there warm and poached the eggs while cooking the ham. Had the water at just about a simmer and they poached amazingly! Had never poached an egg before, but wow I did it! This recipe rules. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan&Nicky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
My daughter is a new cook, she made this and the family enjoyed it. She watched a video on poaching eggs while she was making it which helped. She added Worcestershire sauce which added to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inglewood, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This was my first attempt at eggs benedict and it turned out very well. The instructions are clear and simple to follow. My boyfriend loves eggs benedict and he gave this a big thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie Mary Frances

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
The hollandaise sauce is awful! It has way too much lemon- to the point that it makes the entire meal taste like it has gone bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
What am I missing? This recipe calls for a full cup of butter when everything else I've read requires only a half cup, that is one stick. The wife teases me for not trying out recipes verbatim at least the first time, and determined to go by the book the ideal consistency of thickness was reached after half the butter was applied and was irreparable after adding the rest. As an amateur I'm willing to accept if I made a mistake somewhere especially since I seem to be the only one who caught this. For now I will try the 5 minute recipe made easy by using a blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
lotta work for eggs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aliciaottaway
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
LOVED IT!!! My boyfriend and I were having important guests over for breakfast and this was the perfect dish and a wonderful recipe. The sauce so delish, I even had some left over to make eggs the next morning..... I know I'm not great on lemon so I reduced the lemon by 1 1/4 TB and it worked out great. It did turn out a bit thick while making it so I ended up adding the 2 TB of hot water and then it was the perfect consistency. After broiling and buttering the English Muffins I put the Canadian bacon on them and stuck the back in the turned off oven with the door open just to keep them warm until all the eggs are done. I also took one suggestion of topping off with a pinch of Paprika and it was wonderful. I highly recommend pairing this breakfast with Orange Julius!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly, only blending the sauce ingredients in a blender as one helpful reviewer stated. The texture and color of the sauce was wonderful, however, I did not care for this. Extremely sour/tangy. It tastes nothing like any hollindaise my boyfriend and I have ever had, and we've tried it nearly every breakfast place we've been. I would venture to guess if the lemon juice was reduced by a lot, it might taste wonderful. Also, the sauce is a little runny. I wonder if there is a way to thicken it up like they do in a restaurant?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spic3yL@dy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Whipped these up in about a half-hour for my children and I, and they were great! For the first time, I wanted to follow the recipe to the "T", but next time, I will make the English Muffins from scratch, and use cayenne pepper in the Hollandaise Sauce. I am a guy who "can" cook (but I don't barbecue), but I'm not a chef. The kids are typical of their age and do not usually like to "try new things", but they loved it. They just thought of it, more or less, as an open-faced Egg McMuffin with some gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggs Benedict

Make any brunch special with eggs Benedict--complete with homemade Hollandaise.

Eggs Benedict with Smoked Salmon

Eggs Benedict gets a tasty update with smoked salmon and rye bread.

Eggs Benedict Casserole

Baked breakfast casserole with English muffins and Canadian bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States