Eggs Benedict with Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
I tried this recipe as a more healthful way to make one of my favorite breakfast dishes (and to also use some leftover smoked salmon I had). I loved the idea of using yogurt in place of butter for the hollandaise sauce, and I didn't miss the extra fat at all! Overall, a great recipe, but I think I'll stick to whole wheat english muffins instead of rye. Also, don't forget to put a teaspoon or two of white vinegar into your poaching water. It will help keep the egg whites intact while cooking. Make sure the water is at a gentle boil rather than an all-out rolling one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This is one of the best recipes I've tried so far. As others have mentioned the sauce is tart but this goes perfectly with smoked Salmon. The sauce has more of an acidic lemon flavor than a butter flavor which you'll get with other benedict recipes. This low calorie version of my all time favorite food will be added to my recipe box as a new staple. As others suggested I diced up a roma tomato and garnished with fresh dill. I think the tomato and dill really made this dish shine. Didn't use the capers or parsley though. Make it even healthier by using whole grain/light english muffins!! Ciao
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
I was really disappointed with this recipe. The egg and rye bread part was ok...a quick note, it doesn't take as long to cook the eggs as the recipe suggests...I ended up with hard boiled eggs instead of ones with a nice runny middle (I'm sure that was operator error as I should've watched them closer). The sauce though was not what I wanted at all. The taste of plain yogurt overpowered all the other ingredients. Most hollandaise sauce recipes I've seen call for butter not yogurt but I thought I'd try it anyway. It was super tart and did not suit my family's taste at all, even after adding 1/4 cup of butter. I would do this again but only with a different sauce. (I didn't add the salmon but might try next time when I try a different sauce).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I gave this recipes 4 stars because its a great alternative to the real stuff. However, i did alter the recipe based on all the reviews. I used a couple of tablespoons of butter to give the sauce a bit of depth. I added a very small amount of lemon juice...maybe a tsp or two??? Instead of tabasco, I used cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSW00DY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smitty
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
oh this is so very good!!! will make it again...didn't change a thing except added more capers and scaled it for two...a lovely tasty recipe...thanks...update...i wanted this but didn't have all the ingreds...used pkg hollandaise with a sprinkle of tarragon and cracked blk pepper and added capers after i took the picture and used a slice of the 'olive oil bread' from this site toasted for the base...i prefer the original recipe but it motivated me to wing it...it was very good...thanks again for the recipe and the idea...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Photo by NEWFMOMTIFF
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
Had this at a local diner recently and loved it. I cheated a bit and used packaged hollandaise sauce, and served on whole wheat muffins. It was delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEWFMOMTIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This is a really nice lower fat recipe, with lots of options to cater to your personal taste. As written, the sauce is quite tart. If you prefer a softer sauce, use dijonnaise mustard and half the lemon juice. Also adding dill as garnish really complements the salmon. To lower the fat even further, cook the egg whites instead of additional eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zitaskitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Cheated and used packaged hollandaise sauce and ww muffin but it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
This recipe just sparked all sorts of happiness. Beautiful presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2000
gorg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggs Benedict with Smoked Salmon

Eggs Benedict gets a tasty update with smoked salmon and rye bread.

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

Eggs Benedict

Make any brunch special with eggs Benedict--complete with homemade Hollandaise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States