Eggs Benedict with Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I gave this recipes 4 stars because its a great alternative to the real stuff. However, i did alter the recipe based on all the reviews. I used a couple of tablespoons of butter to give the sauce a bit of depth. I added a very small amount of lemon juice...maybe a tsp or two??? Instead of tabasco, I used cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSW00DY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This is one of the best recipes I've tried so far. As others have mentioned the sauce is tart but this goes perfectly with smoked Salmon. The sauce has more of an acidic lemon flavor than a butter flavor which you'll get with other benedict recipes. This low calorie version of my all time favorite food will be added to my recipe box as a new staple. As others suggested I diced up a roma tomato and garnished with fresh dill. I think the tomato and dill really made this dish shine. Didn't use the capers or parsley though. Make it even healthier by using whole grain/light english muffins!! Ciao
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Very nice play on Eggs Benedict. I used dark rye because I had it. Any bread or muffin or biscuit would have been fine. The sauce is a keeper- I liked the original recipe but can't follow a recipe without making it mine. Added a bit more dijon and put the capers in the sauce. Can hardly wait for a brunch to serve company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Saylor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smitty
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
oh this is so very good!!! will make it again...didn't change a thing except added more capers and scaled it for two...a lovely tasty recipe...thanks...update...i wanted this but didn't have all the ingreds...used pkg hollandaise with a sprinkle of tarragon and cracked blk pepper and added capers after i took the picture and used a slice of the 'olive oil bread' from this site toasted for the base...i prefer the original recipe but it motivated me to wing it...it was very good...thanks again for the recipe and the idea...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
hooray!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
Substituted slices of toasted baguette. Quick and easy to make. The lemon sauce was wonderful with our smoked salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alaskamojo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
I tried this recipe as a more healthful way to make one of my favorite breakfast dishes (and to also use some leftover smoked salmon I had). I loved the idea of using yogurt in place of butter for the hollandaise sauce, and I didn't miss the extra fat at all! Overall, a great recipe, but I think I'll stick to whole wheat english muffins instead of rye. Also, don't forget to put a teaspoon or two of white vinegar into your poaching water. It will help keep the egg whites intact while cooking. Make sure the water is at a gentle boil rather than an all-out rolling one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
This recipe is awesome! I used cajun-flavored smoked salmon and added some fresh chopped tomato. Will definitely be doing this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
The lemon-yogurt sauce is divine! Dill is a very nice flavor addition to the salmon. I think my egg poaching skillz need some improvement; the yolk hardens very fast, so watch out for that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huber Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Made this for brunch this morning. Truly the king of breakfast foods is Eggs Benedict with Salmon. To whoever it was that complained: you surely can't blame the recipe for your eggs. If you had watched them and pulled them out when they first surfaced then they would be fine. As for the sauce & making it without salmon, how about trying a regular eggs benedict then? I personally like to use hollandaise sauce whether I am making regular eggs benedict or w/salmon. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggs Benedict with Smoked Salmon

Eggs Benedict gets a tasty update with smoked salmon and rye bread.

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

Eggs Benedict

Make any brunch special with eggs Benedict--complete with homemade Hollandaise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States