Eggplants a la Dawlish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
5 stars. So simple and very very tasty. Really easy and still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canterbury, Kent, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I did not have coriander seed so used a different herb mix, but even so this was quite good. There were leftovers, and it got better every time I ate it! The lemon seemed to blend with the spice over time to deliver a really tasty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I used oriental eggplant. Great recipe. Next time I'm going to cut the peal off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This was ok. I didn't have coriander seed so I used ground coriander.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Top with a chopped tomatoe. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cope, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
This review is based on how I made it, not the recipe as written. I used 1 tsp dried cilantro instead of coriander seed and upped the lemon juice to 2 Tbsp. I mixed all the seasonings into the oil prior to applying to slices. After baking, topped with diced fresh tomatoes that were mixed with a little basil and salt. Easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
These were nice! I didn't have coriander seed, so I used dried parsley and ground coriander - you can really use whatever herbs and spices you have on hand. Next time, instead of cutting into length-wise slices, I'm going to cut them into thick rounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AZ93
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I really enjoyed this. I sweat the eggplant first to get rid of the bitterness and cut into rounds. This was my first time using coriander and I was surprised what a nice, faint flavor it adds. I made this according to the recipe first and thought it was great. Then I added tomatoes, feta and more lemon and basil for a nicer presentation. See my before and after photos. Next time I will cut thicker than 1/4 inch because it doesn't hold its shape very well when cut so thin. I will also peel the eggplant as I'm not a fan of the skin, but that's just preference. My eggplant stuck to the pan a little despite the olive oil coating so I would recommend spraying your pan lightly with cooking spray. Overall a tasty and easy recipe that I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Great recipe! So simple and delicious. The only change I made was to doublevthe broil time and to use cumin instead of corriander.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
This was different from our usual eggplant and tomato combinations. I'm not sure I'd make it again, but it was nice to try something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Roasted Parmesan Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, crispy, delicious roasted red potatoes.

Grilled Asparagus

Make the perfect spring side dish with grilled asparagus.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States