Eggplants a la Dawlish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This was such simple seasoning, yet very good. However, I overdid it on the salt since it said "to taste" and I wasn't sure. Still good, though. My 5 and 3 year old enjoyed eating it with their steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miasmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
OMG! I have a garden filled with eggplants. This is such a good recipe and realy easy to adjust for flavor alternatives also! Great 4th of July party dip for veggies or chips too! Fantastic on grilled chicken or kabobs of any type! 5+++ stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
what?? not garlic??? well, i made two batches.. my way.. and this way.. so sad i didn't do both this way.. lovely flavor! thanks so much!! ps.. of course i didn't have seed; had ground. will try that way next time, and i did broil it longer.. but i sprayed both sides with olive oil spray and no sticking...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Erickson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I didn't have any coriander seed, so I used a bread dipping spice mix instead. I loved everything about this recipe -- it was quick and easy to make, good texture, good flavor, fast clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
This was different from our usual eggplant and tomato combinations. I'm not sure I'd make it again, but it was nice to try something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Great recipe! So simple and delicious. The only change I made was to doublevthe broil time and to use cumin instead of corriander.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AZ93
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I really enjoyed this. I sweat the eggplant first to get rid of the bitterness and cut into rounds. This was my first time using coriander and I was surprised what a nice, faint flavor it adds. I made this according to the recipe first and thought it was great. Then I added tomatoes, feta and more lemon and basil for a nicer presentation. See my before and after photos. Next time I will cut thicker than 1/4 inch because it doesn't hold its shape very well when cut so thin. I will also peel the eggplant as I'm not a fan of the skin, but that's just preference. My eggplant stuck to the pan a little despite the olive oil coating so I would recommend spraying your pan lightly with cooking spray. Overall a tasty and easy recipe that I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
These were nice! I didn't have coriander seed, so I used dried parsley and ground coriander - you can really use whatever herbs and spices you have on hand. Next time, instead of cutting into length-wise slices, I'm going to cut them into thick rounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
This review is based on how I made it, not the recipe as written. I used 1 tsp dried cilantro instead of coriander seed and upped the lemon juice to 2 Tbsp. I mixed all the seasonings into the oil prior to applying to slices. After baking, topped with diced fresh tomatoes that were mixed with a little basil and salt. Easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Top with a chopped tomatoe. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cope, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oven Roasted Parmesan Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, crispy, delicious roasted red potatoes.

Grilled Asparagus

Make the perfect spring side dish with grilled asparagus.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States