Eggplant with Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Good base recipe for Szechuan-style garlic eggplant. Need to season the eggplant with some salt/pepper a bit while frying. Jazz it up using fresh crushed garlic instead of the powder, at least 2 fat cloves, right at the end of stir-frying the egglplant (mellowing the garlic), along with some green onion. For more flavor, add extra dash of oyster sauce and a good dash of fish sauce, a little more pepper flakes as well. Goes very well with added thin-sliced pork/chicken/beef. Just toss it in after you get the eggplant stir fryin' for a couple mins (takes less time to cook).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Love Love Loved this ~ Pretty much made as written except the following: 3 cloves fresh pressed garlic in lieu of garlic powder, chicken broth in lieu of water and 1/2 TB each of Chinese Garlic Chile Paste & Chinese Chile Paste in lieu of crushed red pepper flakes. I couldn't believe how wonderful this turned out, better than a restaurant, I was very impressed and will make this again and again :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shar E.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Delish!!!! I used hoisin sauce instead, since that is what I had on hand. I also reduced the sugar to 1tsp and it was plenty. So healthy and yummy at the same time! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This was fabulous. my husband devoured it and he *never* eats eggplant. I subbed homemade vegetable stock for the water and I used 1 teaspoon crushed red pepper and two teaspoons sriracha hot chili sauce. I also used 4 tablespoons of soy instead of two as I had no oyster sauce. I also added bok choy and some diced chicken and served over brown rice. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I have made this twice now, and the second time was significantly better. 1) Use fresh garlic if you have it!! (Or pre-chopped garlic in oil). It tastes so much better than with the garlic powder. I used 2-3 bulbs. 2) Ground pork tastes amazing with this dish. I fried up the ground pork seperately to get some browning on the meat, then I drained the excess fat. I added the whole thing to the eggplant mixture at the end of cooking. Delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This is excellent. I tried another recipe for stir fried eggplant on this site and this one is much better. I didn't add as much sugar and garlic powder. And I didn't have any pepper flakes on hand, so I added a hint of tabasco. It came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This is a great recipe to start with. I like to use fresh garlic over dried - and when making Asian sauces I tend to go with brown sugar instead of white. I also switched from soy to tamari - however, as written I'm sure the original is great too! I loved this dish and am very happy to have found it. I've craved Eggplant with Garlic sauce many times over the years and now when the craving hits I have the perfect recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Made it first to directions with the exception of fresh garlic.... Then.. had to make adjustments to the taste.. added extra oyster sauce.. little minced ginger.. sesame seeds and seasame oil and green onions at serving.. good base
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Not sure what went wrong w/ this, but the entire thing just turned to mush
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Anna Bazzo
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
really REALLY good! I always order this when I go to Asian restaurants, but now I am so happy I can make this any time! As suggested by other reviewers, I used 3 fresh garlic cloves instead of garlic powder and I used 1/2 TBSP of Chilli Garlic sauce instead of crushed red pepper flakes. One of my favourite recipes on allrecipes.com! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Bazzo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States