Eggplant with Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Yummy! The local farmer's stand had these eggplant 5/1.00 - what a deal! I made this pretty much as directed but added 1 T. fish sauce and 1 1/2 tsp. ginger paste. I made 1 1/2 times the sauce called for as we like our dish saucey. Served this over rice - hubs asked for seconds. This one was a winner - I'll make this one again and again! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinnerDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Perfectly delicious. Just like take out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Fantastic. I had to take the red pepper flakes out for the kids, but they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Great basic recipe - I used fresh minced garlic instead of powdered, and omitted oyster sauce as I didn't have any. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
LOVED this - especially how quick and easy it is to make. I used 3 cloves of fresh garlic, olive oil and a bit of butter instead of canola and 4 tbsp. of light soy sauce instead of oyster sauce. Just because I didn't have canola oil or oyster sauce on hand - and I'm a huge fan of fresh garlic over dried. I'm sure it is delicious the way it is written and I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This was really really good. I used minced garlic and brown sugar like others suggested, and doubled the sauce since we were eating it with rice. I used half eggplant and half zucchini since I didn't have enough of the eggplant. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jerusalem, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Pocola, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Not bad, but next time I'd have to make again using fresh mince garlic. This much powdered garlic gave the sauce a texture I do not like. The flavor was good but the grit was weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASTROPHE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Made it first to directions with the exception of fresh garlic.... Then.. had to make adjustments to the taste.. added extra oyster sauce.. little minced ginger.. sesame seeds and seasame oil and green onions at serving.. good base
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Not sure were I went wrong, mine is a pile of mush and has no flavor, :( I think it needs something....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Loved this! Used fresh garlic and much less sugar (about 1 teaspoon) and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachmaree

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States