Eggplant with Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Not sure what went wrong w/ this, but the entire thing just turned to mush
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This was fabulous. my husband devoured it and he *never* eats eggplant. I subbed homemade vegetable stock for the water and I used 1 teaspoon crushed red pepper and two teaspoons sriracha hot chili sauce. I also used 4 tablespoons of soy instead of two as I had no oyster sauce. I also added bok choy and some diced chicken and served over brown rice. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Love Love Loved this ~ Pretty much made as written except the following: 3 cloves fresh pressed garlic in lieu of garlic powder, chicken broth in lieu of water and 1/2 TB each of Chinese Garlic Chile Paste & Chinese Chile Paste in lieu of crushed red pepper flakes. I couldn't believe how wonderful this turned out, better than a restaurant, I was very impressed and will make this again and again :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shar E.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I was surprised by this dish as I don't like eggplant. I didn't like the garlic powder usage, as one person pointed out, it made the sauce pasty rather than thick. I'm going to follow the alternate directions next time, and use fresh garlic. It's still going to become a regular for me, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Great, had a fantastic flavor and will definitely make again. It was too spicy for my family though so willd cut back on the red pepper flakes. Also, I was never able to get most of the water to absorb so would use 3/4 c water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna Culp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
This recipe is very delicious. I'm loving it and will surely make again in future to my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I really love eggplant, but I did not care for this. I can't believe how high its rating is. Using so much garlic powder makes the sauce pasty rather than thick. And the sauce per eggplant ratio was so unbelievably high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
This was soooo good and easy. I love eggplant and I would definitely make this over again. Too bad my family doesn't like eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sopenia
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Enhanced it with fresh minced garlic as well. Made it using regular small eggplants I found at the farmer´s market; there weren´t any Chinese eggplants available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sopenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I made it just as written, and found it delicious. I've also added zucchini when on hand, and that's quite tasty in the sauce as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States