Eggplant with Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Eggplant with garlic sauce is my favorite Chinese dish, and this recipe is very good. I modified this recipe based on several others' suggestions. I seasoned the eggplant with salt and pepper, and then added fresh garlic to the stir-fried eggplant (5 cloves). I also added more oyster sauce, a dash of fish sauce, and some sesame oil to the sauce. I topped it with green onions, and it was just delicious! I think it will be even better tomorrow after it sits in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Love this recipe. Was out of red pepper flakes so I used sriracha sauce. Have made it three times now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anna Bazzo
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
really REALLY good! I always order this when I go to Asian restaurants, but now I am so happy I can make this any time! As suggested by other reviewers, I used 3 fresh garlic cloves instead of garlic powder and I used 1/2 TBSP of Chilli Garlic sauce instead of crushed red pepper flakes. One of my favourite recipes on allrecipes.com! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Bazzo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I did not care for this recipe as written. I had to make so many changes just to make it edible. I used 1/2 tsp pepper flakes. I reduced the water to a half cup and cooked it UNcovered. Instead of 3 TB garlic powder, I used one, but fresh garlic would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This was excellent with three cloves fresh garlic instead of garlic powder. I am going to reduce sugar to 3 or 4tsp. next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I HATE eggplant, cannot stress that enough! But this recipe is SO GOOD!! 5 stars because even the pickiest eat this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Awesome recipe, and if you're on Weight Watchers like many are it's 5 PointsPlus Points as stated without conversions! I hated eggplant until I tried this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This has a STRONG flavor! Too strong for me surprisingly. I think it was the oyster sauce which I have used on many occasions with no complications. Too much of it. I'm glad I made some rice to serve with to take away from the incredibly over powering flavor. 2 stars is all I can give.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Absolutely delicious. I LOVE making this quick and easy curry. I usually just use regular eggplants instead of Chinese eggplants, and I just cut them up into bite sized pieces. Super easy, super tasty! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
was delicious. I used hot sauce instead of crushed red pepper and added mushrooms. I didnt have cornstarch but didnt need it. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States