Eggplant with Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I had zucchini, not eggplant, so I sauted it (took 10 minutes for each of two batches), using maybe about 2/3 as much oil. I skipped the simmering step, and when adding the cornstarch-soy-sugar mixture, gradually added maybe 1/2 cup water. (I also completely omitted the red pepper, but that's because toddlers were eating it -- ordinarily I wouldn't -- and oyster sauce, because I didn't have any.) To my mind, it was even better than with eggplant. But both ways are delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I've never had eggplant and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
This was really quick & wonderful way to prepare eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Day-Nut!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This was a super easy recipe for eggplant. I did however make some changes. I used coconut oil instead of canola, fish sauce for oyster sauce, and opted for a soy sauce that had no MSG. It was fantastic served on brown basmati rice with cabbage salad, and split pea curry. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This is really good, using fish sauce, yster sauce and fresh garlic as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Delish and so easy even I was able to pull it off. I used 3 garlic cloves and a Serrano pepper instead of garlic powder and pepper flakes. I also added portabello mushrooms right before the 1 cup of water and WOW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Now I know how to make this dish. This is my mother's favorite when we go out to Chinese cuisine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
used chicken bouillon instead of water, added thin sliced chicken after eggplant cooked for a few minutes. one of my favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Pretty tasty - used fresh garlic and no oyster sauce but used a splash of sesame oil at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Eggplant with garlic sauce is my favorite Chinese dish, and this recipe is very good. I modified this recipe based on several others' suggestions. I seasoned the eggplant with salt and pepper, and then added fresh garlic to the stir-fried eggplant (5 cloves). I also added more oyster sauce, a dash of fish sauce, and some sesame oil to the sauce. I topped it with green onions, and it was just delicious! I think it will be even better tomorrow after it sits in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States