Eggplant with Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
was delicious. I used hot sauce instead of crushed red pepper and added mushrooms. I didnt have cornstarch but didnt need it. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
wow . I used Real Garlic and also I chopped up some coriander added Fish sauce and a touch of Sesame oil . I fried Pork mince and added to the eggplant mixture. I cooked the pork using a different fry pan. I then Cooked some egg noodles and added it all as one mixture.. My wife loved it and so did my three kids I also added Zucchini to the egg plant and added some sat to the egg plant while cooking it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rooman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bakesie
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Great recipe! This turned out really good and I will make this again. The next time I wouldn't use garlic powder, I'd suggest real garlic. The power didn't melt in as much as I'd hoped for. Other than that, this was SPICY and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakesie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
thank you for sharing this.... i love it i try it last night and its so good... (The truth i dont order this in any restaurant but my friend always eat this... but im kind a curious about the taste.) so i ending up cooking it last night and i like it its so good.. thank you for sharing this tasty recipe.. Hope you have more later...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This recipe is incredible! My favorite restaurant in NYC introduced me to this dish, and I thought it would be difficult to replicate in my own home. My first time preparing this dish, I came fairly close! I used the small round eggplants (some purple, some green Thai) instead of the typical long Chinese variety. Also, if you are anything like me, you may want to cut down slightly on the red pepper flakes, as my wife and I found this dish to be quite spicy. In any case, the flavor was a real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I replaced the garlic powder with minced fresh garlic and added some minced fresh ginger, too (about a Tbsp each). I also used thai chili sauce instead of red pepper flakes and brown sugar instead of white sugar. Loved this recipe and got lots of compliments from supper club, too. Added ground turkey to the leftovers for a main dish. Even better than the dish that I was trying to recreate from our local Chinese restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Yummy AND easy! Instant winner. I made some seemingly popular modifications, veggie stock instead of water, three cloves of fresh garlic instead of powdered, and doubled on the soy sauce since I didn't have oyster sauce. But I also only had a big Italian-style eggplant, which I cut into 1-inch cubes, rubbed with salt and lemon pepper before throwing them in the pan, and subbed in 2 teaspoons of Stevia for the sugar for a low-cal modification. Served over brown rice - awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Very tasty! Definitely use fresh garlic and red pepper paste to freshen things up. I used about 5 cloves of garlic and about two teaspoons of chile paste. It was pretty spicy, but had great flavor. Also finished with a splash of rice vine vinegar, which was just the thing to balance and brighten the flavor. Will definitely make this again...often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
4 stars because a couple of easy changes make this much better. Use fresh garlic instead of powder and chicken broth instead of water. I also suggest adding a little grated or diced ginger. The end result really did taste like what you would get in a good Chinese restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Living In: Douglas, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Very, very good! I cut my eggplant pieces a bit too small -- at the end of cooking the eggplant had broken down a little too much, but still delicious! I followed advice of others and added a couple extra splashes of oyster sauce, and snipped some green onions to sprinkle on the top when serving. Next time I will try adding a little fresh ginger, as others have suggested. This is a keeper, and I look forward to making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States