Eggplant with Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Now I know how to make this dish. This is my mother's favorite when we go out to Chinese cuisine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
used chicken bouillon instead of water, added thin sliced chicken after eggplant cooked for a few minutes. one of my favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Pretty tasty - used fresh garlic and no oyster sauce but used a splash of sesame oil at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Eggplant with garlic sauce is my favorite Chinese dish, and this recipe is very good. I modified this recipe based on several others' suggestions. I seasoned the eggplant with salt and pepper, and then added fresh garlic to the stir-fried eggplant (5 cloves). I also added more oyster sauce, a dash of fish sauce, and some sesame oil to the sauce. I topped it with green onions, and it was just delicious! I think it will be even better tomorrow after it sits in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Love this recipe. Was out of red pepper flakes so I used sriracha sauce. Have made it three times now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anna Bazzo
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
really REALLY good! I always order this when I go to Asian restaurants, but now I am so happy I can make this any time! As suggested by other reviewers, I used 3 fresh garlic cloves instead of garlic powder and I used 1/2 TBSP of Chilli Garlic sauce instead of crushed red pepper flakes. One of my favourite recipes on allrecipes.com! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Bazzo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I did not care for this recipe as written. I had to make so many changes just to make it edible. I used 1/2 tsp pepper flakes. I reduced the water to a half cup and cooked it UNcovered. Instead of 3 TB garlic powder, I used one, but fresh garlic would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This was excellent with three cloves fresh garlic instead of garlic powder. I am going to reduce sugar to 3 or 4tsp. next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I HATE eggplant, cannot stress that enough! But this recipe is SO GOOD!! 5 stars because even the pickiest eat this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Awesome recipe, and if you're on Weight Watchers like many are it's 5 PointsPlus Points as stated without conversions! I hated eggplant until I tried this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States