Eggplant with Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
The first time I made this it was better then how my Chinese husband tried to make it! It's perfect. the next time I made it I doubled the sauce and added yellow onions and topped it with green onions and sesame seeds. Perfect over rice and a dish of general chicken or your favorite meat dish. Enjoy enjoy enjoy! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
The taste is good, but the proportions are off. 1/2 cup of water was excessive. I would personally double the amount of sauce and half the amount of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I really enjoyed this. I threw in some zucchini as well. The sauces was remarkably easy and quite tasty. I will be using this in the future!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Ann Theisen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
This is a great basic recipe. I followed the advice of a couple different reviewers and used extra soy sauce in substitute of oyster sauce. I added 2 tbs. chile sauce. Reduced sugar to 2tps., and used 3 cloves fresh garlic. I cooked rice and chicken and added 1/2 tbs crushed red peppers to that instead of eggplant. My skeptical husband LOVED it! ~~HINT~~ after sauteing the eggplant, add garlic and cook for 1 min. longer and then start adding water (veggie broth) about an 1/8 of a cup at a time. It helps make the absorption process go faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claudiamagdalena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kayelle88
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I didn't have chinese eggplant, so I used a medium sized normal one cubed into 1-1.5 inch chunks. I wanted this to be a full dinner entree to have over rice, so I separately browned ground turkey beforehand, and combined that at the last step to cover it with the sauce. I also used fresh garlic and added a squirt of hoisin sauce at the end. DELICIOUS. I will be making this again and again to have over rice or noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I had a craving for this dish. The recipe was great. In addition to the garlic powder, I used fresh garlic, ginger and scallions. And for those of you who cannot consume cornstarch like me, use arrowroot instead. It turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Great! I was looking for a recipe like the Garlic Eggplant they make at the beloved Burma Superstar here in San Francisco. This comes really close and is delicious. Happily, it's super easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IronChefHarvey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Practically inedible. The texture and look was right. The taste, however, was off. I thought it was too salty or perhaps too sour (fish sauce). My partner thought it had too much chili. We're used to spicy food--Sichuan is one of our favorite cuisines--but the balance of the sauces and spices in this was wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I had zucchini, not eggplant, so I sauted it (took 10 minutes for each of two batches), using maybe about 2/3 as much oil. I skipped the simmering step, and when adding the cornstarch-soy-sugar mixture, gradually added maybe 1/2 cup water. (I also completely omitted the red pepper, but that's because toddlers were eating it -- ordinarily I wouldn't -- and oyster sauce, because I didn't have any.) To my mind, it was even better than with eggplant. But both ways are delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I've never had eggplant and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States