Eggplant with Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Great! I was looking for a recipe like the Garlic Eggplant they make at the beloved Burma Superstar here in San Francisco. This comes really close and is delicious. Happily, it's super easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IronChefHarvey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Practically inedible. The texture and look was right. The taste, however, was off. I thought it was too salty or perhaps too sour (fish sauce). My partner thought it had too much chili. We're used to spicy food--Sichuan is one of our favorite cuisines--but the balance of the sauces and spices in this was wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I had zucchini, not eggplant, so I sauted it (took 10 minutes for each of two batches), using maybe about 2/3 as much oil. I skipped the simmering step, and when adding the cornstarch-soy-sugar mixture, gradually added maybe 1/2 cup water. (I also completely omitted the red pepper, but that's because toddlers were eating it -- ordinarily I wouldn't -- and oyster sauce, because I didn't have any.) To my mind, it was even better than with eggplant. But both ways are delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I've never had eggplant and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
This was really quick & wonderful way to prepare eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Day-Nut!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This was a super easy recipe for eggplant. I did however make some changes. I used coconut oil instead of canola, fish sauce for oyster sauce, and opted for a soy sauce that had no MSG. It was fantastic served on brown basmati rice with cabbage salad, and split pea curry. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This is really good, using fish sauce, yster sauce and fresh garlic as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Delish and so easy even I was able to pull it off. I used 3 garlic cloves and a Serrano pepper instead of garlic powder and pepper flakes. I also added portabello mushrooms right before the 1 cup of water and WOW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Now I know how to make this dish. This is my mother's favorite when we go out to Chinese cuisine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
used chicken bouillon instead of water, added thin sliced chicken after eggplant cooked for a few minutes. one of my favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States