Eggplant with Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Wonderful! I used real garlic and added a King Oyster Mushroom. Used hoisin sauce because I didn't have oyster sauce. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Honey Clover
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Definitely had lots of flavor. I cut down on the sugar and substituted cornstarch with tapioca starch; was excellent with brown rice! 4/5 mostly because I felt it was too salty and a bit too spicy for me. Would make it again though but will cut down on the sodium a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honey Clover

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
I will never order spicy eggplant at a chinese restaurant again! This tastes just as good or even better. Very easy to make! I used fresh garlic instead of powder and I used brown sugar. Came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
What the heck did I do wrong? Well, I think I know. I peeled the egg plant before I cooked it. Oops. Don't do that. My dish turned out to be a sauce (mish mash mush). It was also very gross with the oyster sauce. If I had not used the oyster sauce, it probably would have been better tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by car

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morton Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Skokie, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I didn't follow it exactly. I used fresh garlic and brown sugar and added some fish sauce, but it was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Yum! Followed recipe to the tee so I could give it a fair rating. I did cook the eggplant longer because I do like the eggplant soft. Also, if I were to make it again, I would probably use chopped garlic in the canola oil vs. garlic powder. My 11 year old daughter who normally doesn't like eggplant ate this up! She really liked it... Would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kukadog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Perfect! Used about 5 cloves of fresh pressed garlic instead of powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
JUST MADE IT, KILLER GOOD. I USED ONLY 1 TEASPOON OF CHILI FLAKES,LEFT SOME OF THE WATER IN THE PAN UNOBSORBED,AND TOPPED WITH GREEN ONIONS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
good base recipe, made a few changes. like another reviewer i had no oyster sauce, but i did have some fish sauce, so i used 1T of that and added an extra 1T of soy sauce. diced the eggplant and soaked it in salt water for 30 minutes then drained, rinsed and dried before cooking. thin sliced 3 cloves garlic and used only 1t of garlic powder. had a jalapeno so i diced half of it and added with the garlic, cut down on the crushed red pepper by half. used no sugar and cut the water in half. added some cut green beans because i had some that needed to be used served over quinoa. it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pushbuttonkitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Creede, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States