Eggplant with Feta Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by melbo105
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I too "doctored it up" a little (see pic), but the recipe gave me a great starting ground, since I didn't really know how to cook eggplant at all! Make sure you add salt/pepper after you oil them, plus I added tomatoes and garlic to roast at the same time, to put on top. Along with the fresh basil, I added some balsamic, and those two additions really made it great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I thought this was great. Read the other reviews and added the tomatoes as suggested, I didn't have basil :/ but used garlic and salt & pepper. I had to cook mine quite a bit longer before the feta got bubbly, but everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Made this last night and it was DELICIOUS!! The only things I did differently were I put olive oil on both sides and left them under the broiler a little longer, on both sides. I also added garlic powder and Asiago cheese. Fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
I made this tonight, I was very excited about it as I try to make one vegetable main dish three days a week for dinner. After reading the reviews I peeled the eggplant and salted and added olive oil and balsamic vinegar to both sides. For the topping I added Parmesan and mozzarella along with Mediterranean herbed feta cheese, bread crumbs, cherry tomatoes, garlic powder, salt and pepper, and olive oil over the tops. Put in oven for 15 minutes at 350. Topped with basil. DELICIOUS!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I liked this meal, but like the previous reviewer mentioned, my toddler did not. It was quick and easy though, and a simple way to use up the eggplants I keep getting in the CSA box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kurt Williams
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
This was great except the feta didn't melt and I had to put it under the broiler again. That turned to be perfect. Also, I should have added garlic to the feta. We didn't have tomatoes but it didn't take away from the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kurt Williams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly and it really needs something else. It was just ok. I would not waste the time and effort to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I really enjoyed this...WITH the addition of balsamic vinegar and tomatoes. Before cooking, I soaked the eggplant slices in a mixture of the vinegar and oil. Broiled for five minutes, then added the cheese and tomatoes and baked all together till the eggplant was soft, which took a little longer than 10 minutes for me. When I brought them out of the oven I drizzled with more vinegar and sprinkled the basil on. The skin of the eggplant was a little tough, but I enjoyed the rest. They were pretty and very colorful on the plate. I think I would prefer this with goat cheese crumbles, and may try that in the future. Thanks for a new idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I agree with other reviewers...something was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
It was just mushy and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rollyne Klem

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Homemade Mac and Cheese

See how to make a velvety, five-star macaroni and cheese.

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States