Eggplant con Queso Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2001
My husband and I love eggplant but dont like all the oil with frying so this recipe was really great. We substituted sour cream for the whipping cream and did not boil the eggplant first; just to keep the eggplant firmer and less fat. Really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
YUM YUM! Very pleased with this! Changed it a bit though. I added 2 cloves of garlic, used 200ml of cooking cream to make it more saucey. I only had a 1/4 cup of cheddar so used 1/2 cup parmesan. I don't live in the US so I don't know what poultry spice is so I used half a veg stock cube. Will be making this again and eating the leftovers for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bray, County Wicklow, Ireland
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
I liked this recipe a lot! My husband thought it was excellent as well. I will mention that this recipe is for those who have had eggplant before. I used half mayo half reconstituted milk and I didn't boil the eggplant. I didn't add the spices either and instead added a fourth a cup of salsa. I also used bread crumbs instead of cubes. I mixed it all together and sprinkled with half the cheese. I didn't skin the eggplant either because most of the good nutrients are in the skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leawood, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Fabulous! We're in a CSA and I was running out of ways to prepare eggplant. I used a little more cheddar than called for, substituted half the flour with arrowroot powder (my thickener of choice), and threw in a small onion, minced and cooked in olive oil with some herbes de provence and lots of garlic powder, deglazed with some Jack Daniel's. I also roasted the eggplant ahead of time instead of boiling, and since I didn't have any poultry seasoning, I used seasoned salt, cumin, and more garlic powder. I can't believe how great this tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Yummy! My second attempt at making eggplant was a success(first attempt was a disasterous baba ganoush). I added diced cooked chicken and a can of mild green chilies and used monterey jack cheese instead of cheddar and used bread crumbs instead of cubes. I didn't have heavy cream so I used sour cream thinned down with some milk. It wasn't very pretty, but was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
Well....pretty bad news. My 5 year old refused to touch it-My 8 year old said it was disgusting, and could we please order a pizza? My husband, who will eat most everything could not choke it down, and said it felt slimy in his mouth. I thought it was really bad. It only smelled good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
My family does NOT like eggplant, but this was a huge hit (even though it's not visually appealing.) I followed another reviewer (I think) and roasted the eggplant. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
It was good but I changed it a bit. I steamed the eggplant until just tender using chicken broth, used Italian seasoning instead of poultry seasoning, garlic flavored croûtons instead of toasted bread & non fat cream instead of heavy cream. I was a little watery but very tasty all the same
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jollywolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
This recipe was too "wet" for us. I may try it again without boiling the eggplant...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENJOYBEING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Warren, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
Very good! Would definitely either use salted water to boil eggplant in, or salt eggplant after it's cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States