Eggplant con Queso Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Not impressed. This is the only recipe I've ever given below 3 stars... it was just missing something to really pull the eggplant and cheese together! I used seasoned bread crumbs instead of toast, and added some crushed garlic. The entire dish was literally too dry. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Harte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henley, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I thought it was really good. The reason I gave it 4 stars was because my husband felt it was a bit soggy. He said I should have used real bread crumbs rather then toasted bread. I did have a very good taste though. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
It was OK, Jero and Dylan were not thrilled about it but Mom and Auntie Ebby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
I liked this recipe a lot! My husband thought it was excellent as well. I will mention that this recipe is for those who have had eggplant before. I used half mayo half reconstituted milk and I didn't boil the eggplant. I didn't add the spices either and instead added a fourth a cup of salsa. I also used bread crumbs instead of cubes. I mixed it all together and sprinkled with half the cheese. I didn't skin the eggplant either because most of the good nutrients are in the skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leawood, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
YUM YUM! Very pleased with this! Changed it a bit though. I added 2 cloves of garlic, used 200ml of cooking cream to make it more saucey. I only had a 1/4 cup of cheddar so used 1/2 cup parmesan. I don't live in the US so I don't know what poultry spice is so I used half a veg stock cube. Will be making this again and eating the leftovers for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bray, County Wicklow, Ireland
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
I am barely 30-something and had never tried eggplant... until this evening. I am expanding my family's culinary horizon, but for some reason we all looked behind us tonight. We are three, and I have leftovers for three more. Oh, what to do?!? Perhaps, this dish is quite tasty for those who are accustomed to the tecture of this unique vegetable. I will try eggplant again; I will try this recipe again... someday, but not anytime soon. Our palates just aren't ready for this thing called eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
Awesome! But i didnt add the flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
Well....pretty bad news. My 5 year old refused to touch it-My 8 year old said it was disgusting, and could we please order a pizza? My husband, who will eat most everything could not choke it down, and said it felt slimy in his mouth. I thought it was really bad. It only smelled good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
This recipe was too "wet" for us. I may try it again without boiling the eggplant...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENJOYBEING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Warren, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
Very good! Would definitely either use salted water to boil eggplant in, or salt eggplant after it's cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States