Eggplant con Queso Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This was too bland. I realize that eggplant is very mild but I think I was expecting something better than what it turned out to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Aurora, New York, USA
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Absolutely wonderful! Both my 6 and 3 year old said this was "Delicious,delectable and delightful" we had it as an appetizer with french bread,my husband and I both loved it...I added 2 garlic cloves and cooked it with the skins...yummmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mcintyreknox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I only recently joined this website, and this is the first recipe I have tried. I love eggplant but have been looking for something new to do with it. This recipe was awesome, and I didn't change a thing; my husband loved it too! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poodlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I thought this recipe was pretty good. I steamed the eggplant in the microwave for 5 minutes in a covered bowl with some water instead of boiling it. I think the recipe was dry for the people who substituted bread crumbs for toasted bread. Mine was not dry and I might even add more toast next time because the crunches were yummy. Steaming vs boiling the eggplant also prevented it from getting too mushy. I added about an extra cup and a half or so of mozzarella cheese to the cup of cheddar because I was trying to use up what I had in my fridge and I think I will add extra cheese next time too. Next time I will just use 2% milk instead of heavy cream. It is rich enough with the extra cheese. I didn't have poultry seasoning so I substituted sage instead. It was pretty mild flavored so I put salt, pepper, and celery seed on top. This reminded me a bit of a summer version of Thanksgiving stuffing and I really enjoyed this new way of preparing eggplant. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This recipe has the potential to be good, but unfortunately - as written - it needs serious changes. I boiled it as it stated. It only needs a few minutes at a rapid boil. I also used bread crumbs, per some of the other members suggestions. However, upon removing it from the oven after 20 minutes - it was already very dry and hard on top and the eggplant was soft in some spots - hard in others. In an effort to save the dish (call it a stroke of genius if you will) - I removed the dish from the oven and retrieved my handy potato masher. After mashing the cheesy eggplant concoction to a "chunky" mashed potato consistency, I stirred in about a 1/2 cup of salsa and then topped with a 1/2 cup of mexican cheese. I put the eggplant casserole back in the oven for about 10 minutes at 275 to melt the cheese. The end result was awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica-Rabbit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
i just didn't like the taste of it. i think next time, if i make it i won't be adding the poultry seasoning, but garlic salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toocute110

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nedrow, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Fabulous! We're in a CSA and I was running out of ways to prepare eggplant. I used a little more cheddar than called for, substituted half the flour with arrowroot powder (my thickener of choice), and threw in a small onion, minced and cooked in olive oil with some herbes de provence and lots of garlic powder, deglazed with some Jack Daniel's. I also roasted the eggplant ahead of time instead of boiling, and since I didn't have any poultry seasoning, I used seasoned salt, cumin, and more garlic powder. I can't believe how great this tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
My family does NOT like eggplant, but this was a huge hit (even though it's not visually appealing.) I followed another reviewer (I think) and roasted the eggplant. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Yummy! My second attempt at making eggplant was a success(first attempt was a disasterous baba ganoush). I added diced cooked chicken and a can of mild green chilies and used monterey jack cheese instead of cheddar and used bread crumbs instead of cubes. I didn't have heavy cream so I used sour cream thinned down with some milk. It wasn't very pretty, but was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Kobly Krieman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
It was good but I changed it a bit. I steamed the eggplant until just tender using chicken broth, used Italian seasoning instead of poultry seasoning, garlic flavored croûtons instead of toasted bread & non fat cream instead of heavy cream. I was a little watery but very tasty all the same
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jollywolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States