Eggplant and Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Incredible. Everyone loves it. I add more tomatoes and use whatever loaf of bread I have to make breadcrumbs with. Also, Colby Jack cheese. My one year old LOVES this, even reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INAE7997

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
my wife and I went to some friends house for dinner we were to bring a side dish.This is the I took.I substitute smoky chedard ---WOW ---I really got the requests for a copy of my recipe .Left there a proud ole man
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Very good! My meat and potatoes adult son even enjoyed it. I just put stuffing in bottom of dish, added vegetables and sprinkled 2 cups of italian blend cheese over the top. I did also mix in 1/2 C of tomato sauce just to get it out of the fridge. I also cooked the whole dish in the microwave. Did stuffing according to package directions, cooked vegetables 10 minutes covered on high stirring twice during the cooking time then finished the assembled dish for a minute on high just to melt cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrammyG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I found that I had to add a significant amount of seasoning to the dish: rosemary, thyme, garlic, salt, pepper, and oregano. I also added a bit of Parmesan cheese. I used about half of the stuffing to make it healthier, and low-fat/2% cheese. It wasn't bad, but it seemed like something was missing?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Perfect summertime recipe using fresh eggplant and tomato! I didn't use the stuffing as I wanted a lighter tasting dish. Instead I layered panko bread crumbs between the layer of vegetables and cheese (vegetables, bread crumbs, cheese times two) I also added minced garlic to the vegetable mixture while it was simmering and cooked a little less than the recommended 15 minutes so there would be liquid for the bread crumbs to soak up. I took another reviewers advice and used freshly sliced mozarella cheese and parmesan instead of the colby jack. This smelled wonderful while cooking and tasted even better!! I can't wait to make it again when I get more fresh eggplant from the garden!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Followed the recipe exactly. It was a little too mushy and bland for us. But, I think it has potential. Will try again making some adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Because I made a few adjustments/additions as per other reviewers(2tbsp of butter instead of 4/4oz bread crumbs instead of 8/1 garlic clove/1.5c sliced mushrooms/1tsp basil) I'm only giving this dish a 3-star. Even though I put most of the stuffing on top it still came out too 'mushy' in the end. I won't give up on this one and will definitely try it again until it gets at least a 4-star rating in this household. Thanks Linda. Cheers :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Wonderful flavor. I was a little concerned when my husband said he wanted to become a vegetarian, but with recipes like this it's easy! Next time I will omit the eggplant and add some other types of summer squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mountainmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fryeburg, Maine, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I made this casserole last night for dinner and it was a huge hit. I didn't cook it the full amount b/c my family doesn't like their veggies soft. Also, I used the cornbread flavored stove top stuffing mix and added a dash of cayenne pepper, and it worked perfectly. I topped it the last 10 minutes of baking with parmesan and shredded cheddar cheese since I didn't have any colby, and it worked just fine. This recipe was a winner in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This recipe is awesome! Everyone ate this even my dad who is picky and claims to hate eggplant and zucchini. The first time I made this recipe I used Italian flavored bread crumbs, and the second time I did use chicken flavored stuffing. Both came out great! This dish is a very tasty way to disguise veges. The second time I made it I covered up the dish with tin foil because the first time the cheese was very rubbery and a hard layer. Turned out much better the second time around. Also added green peppers, chili-garlic-ginger paste for extra taste. I love this dish it is so customizable! I will definitly be keeping this one in my recipe book! :) Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jammin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States