Eggplant and Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I have never cooked with or even tried eggplant, so I was looking for a recipe that I hoped would make it great. This was it! Fabulous recipe! The only change I made was to add fresh mushrooms too, because I love mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Nielsen Yeagley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
My family loved this recipe. Because of an overabundance of squash in our garden, I used a combination of zucchini and yellow squash. In an effort to lower our fat intake, I didn't use the butter in the stuffing, but didn't miss it a bit! This is a great way to get more veggies into my family's diet in a very tasty way. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I very rarely rate stuff on here, but I've made this several times for my husband, and it's one of our favorites. It's so simple yet so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
You know what I love about AllRecipes.com? With all the variations that others come up with to tweak a recipe, it really gives you ideas of how to make it your own. And that's what I did with this one. I liked the basic idea and just switched it up some, from others' reviews. I used Italian seasoned Panko instead of the dressing mix. I used parmesan & romano cheeses instead of Colby. I used Italian seasoning instead of just thyme. I did not precook the vegies. Here's how it all went down: "pammed" a 13 x 19 pan; layer of raw diced vegies, then layer of Panko, layer of cheeses; another layer of each, topped with a jar of pasta sauce. Covered with foil, baked at 400 degrees for 30 minutes. Removed foil, added more cheese, returned to oven for about 10 minutes, til cheese was melted and starting to brown. This is one of the best dishes I have ever made! Thanks to all, for your wonderful ideas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Good side dish and lets me use up my garden extras. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wallkill Panther Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wallkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This is a great recipe. It is especially wonderful in the summer when you can take advantage of the abundance of local garden vegetables which are available. The only problem I had was that, the commercial stuffing mixes all seemed to contain chicken fat and other undesirable ingredients. We did end up finding one that was vegetarian the second time we made this. Next time I will check Whole Foods, or the organic section of Kroger. They might have healthier options.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I really liked this recipe. I made it just as written despite reading the other reviews about cutting back on the amount of stuffing. I made mine in a 9x13 pan and the stuffing was really rather sparse when spread over the whole pan for two layers. I'll definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This casserole is awesome! I changed from colby jack to cheddar but otherwise it was great! it also helps use up all the truck load of zucchini we get from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Delicious! I took other reviewers' advice and cut the stuffing mix (as well as the water and butter) by half. Even my two year old seems to be enjoying it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Pretty good. We had eggplant, zucchini, onions, and tomatoes from our CSA that needed to be used, so this recipe seemed like the perfect fit. It was good, but I've found two other eggplant recipes on this site that I think are much better: Baingan Bharta (Eggplant Curry) and Eggplant Parmesan II.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States