Eggplant and Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2004
This was tasty. My husband loved it! I did not use stuffing mix because I wanted a lighter version. Instead, I sprinkled Italian bread crumbs over each layer. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
I am a vegetarian and LOVED this dish. I had guests for dinner--who aren't vegetarians =:O)--and even their college-aged kids loved it. I recommend peeling the eggplant--the peel tastes bitter to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
You know what I love about AllRecipes.com? With all the variations that others come up with to tweak a recipe, it really gives you ideas of how to make it your own. And that's what I did with this one. I liked the basic idea and just switched it up some, from others' reviews. I used Italian seasoned Panko instead of the dressing mix. I used parmesan & romano cheeses instead of Colby. I used Italian seasoning instead of just thyme. I did not precook the vegies. Here's how it all went down: "pammed" a 13 x 19 pan; layer of raw diced vegies, then layer of Panko, layer of cheeses; another layer of each, topped with a jar of pasta sauce. Covered with foil, baked at 400 degrees for 30 minutes. Removed foil, added more cheese, returned to oven for about 10 minutes, til cheese was melted and starting to brown. This is one of the best dishes I have ever made! Thanks to all, for your wonderful ideas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2002
Fairly quick to prepare--add about 15 minutes total prep time to the cooking times. I used a wok to sautee the vegetables, as my biggest skillet wasn't big enough. I also recommend using half the stuffing called for in this recipe (or less), as the taste of the stuffing can completely overwhelm this dish; if you use flavored stuffing mix, the vegetables just get lost. I might try it again by thinly slicing and layering the ingredients and using very minimal stuffing. I'd call this recipe only average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lazar

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
Everbody really loved this recipe. Added yellow squash as well to add more color. Also used Italian style stove top stuffing mix and added Italian seasonings to the vegetables when cooking. Added Montery Jack and parmesan cheese to the cheese mixture. Diced the vegetables fairly large and didn't cook quite as long as suggested, didn't want them too soft. Was very flavorful and tasty. Have made a number of times already and has always been a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2000
Excellent! The eggplant, zucchinit and tomato were great togehter. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2000
This was delicious! I also tried it with zucchini and yellow summer squash when I didn't have any eggplant and it came out just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
I have made this recipe several times and really like it. It is a great side dish or main dish for lunch. It does make quite a lot but is good as a leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
This is definitely worth keeping. My 25-year-old son who is a voracious eater says this is his all time favorite and I make it for him almost every time he visits. This is also delicious cold and has a lot of protein in it. I recommend it highly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOERY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2000
Very simple, filling and delicious. The cheese and stuffing made it kid-friendly, while the vegetables made it satisfying for my husband and I. In just a few weeks, I've already served this repeatedly - it's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States