Eggplant and Tomato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 30, 2008
I think I would have liked it much better without the balsamic vinegar. Way too strong tasting for me. I think I can play with it some and make a few changes and it will be just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yaba
Living In: Ninety Six, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I made this for dinner tonight and thought it was terrible. The individuals who favored this dish added different components. As is, this dish needs some work. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MamaMay
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Ok, so I really changed this recipe. I put bread crumbs and cheese on top over every level of the eggplant. I also used white wine in place of the vinegar. My husband thought it was "incredable".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leawood, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
I did not like this at all, and neither did my husband. It has a very strong vinegar flavor. I love eggplant, but I couldn't even taste it. And for an 8" pan, I think that 1 cup of breadcrumbs is too much. There was a thick layer of the crumbs just sitting on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
My husband and I took one bite and both spit it back out. It's just eggplant, tomato, and onion soaked in vinegar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
This was very good, but i think i would prefer to serve it as a side dish instead of the main dish. To avoid undercooked onions, i sauteed them a little in some cooking spray. I did the same with the eggplant (no oil). I used a lot of onion, too. On the top, i sprinkled basil, paprika, and cayenne pepper (you could just use italian seasoned breadcrumbs). Then i drizzled it with pumpkin seed oil, instead of mixing it with olive oil. Very good, but a kind of weird texture. Not to serve to guests, i don't think. Just a family meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2Yung2Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
This has become one of my favorite recipes. I added a little sauteed fresh garlic and bell pepper. I also put 4 slices of provolone cheese under the bread crumbs. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kane, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
This is really tasty. Everyone wanted the recipe. I added maple flavored balsamic vinegar, just because that's what I had. Cut the onions and tomatoes very thin! It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
This was excellent! I'm surprised the previous reviews have not been 5 stars. Definitely, an all-time favorite now! To reduce the fat, I baked the eggplant slices rather than frying them in oil. I also separated the half rings of onion when I layered them. I used homemade Italian-style breadcrumbs, too. I chose to serve it on the cool size of room temperature--perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
I have to agree with the previous reviewer. My onions weren't done and plain crumbs made it, well, plain. I wouldn't try it again. I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States