Eggplant and Tomato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This was a big crowd pleaser for vegetarians and carnivores alike, and overall pretty easy to make! I sliced the eggplant into ~1/3 inch slices then cut each slice in half before sauteeing with the onions as others suggested (skipped the salting/steaming process entirely). Since so many people talked about the recipe needing more sauce, I used 28 oz crushed tomatoes with 15 oz diced tomatoes and thought the ratio turned out well. For the yogurt, I upped the amount to ~24 oz nonfat yogurt-- everyone was so surprised that it wasn't cheese that I think I'll begin using it as a healthier substitute going forward! I baked the layered dish for 30 minutes covered before uncovering to add the topping. I needed a bit more of the breadcrumb/Parmesan mixture to cover the entire pan- probably 1/2 cup combined. Baked that for another ~10 minutes then let cool a little before serving. I will be sharing this recipe with friends and definitely making again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
A little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Very Yummy!!! I made a few changes - I didn't steam the eggplant as long because I like the edges a little tougher (personal preference), and instead of topping with Parmesan cheese, I used mozzarella. Very good dish and relatively easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Hilton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Delicious! Boyfriend who claims he HATES eggplant loved this dish. Easy prep especially because I didn't have to "sweat" the eggplant prior to cooking. I served over angelhair pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
This was my first time trying eggplant. I'm glad I tried this recipe! My susbtitions/changes: -Sauteed the eggplant with the tomato sauce to save time -Did not add salt to reduce sodium (tomato puree & parm chees have enough) -Replaced breadcrumbs with flaxseed meal (reduces some of the carbs & flaxseed is so good for you) -Used minced garlic instead of whole cloves to save time It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly. This dish was not for me and my family. Everyone made funny faces. I didn't care for it, so I told my children they didn't have to eat it after I saw their faces. This was our first time eating eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
This was great! I tend to alter recipes so I used 1 can of diced tomatoes + 1 can of tomato paste for the sauce. Also, I used greek fat free yogurt, which made it really creamy. The yogurt tasted just like cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBex

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Mine came out watery, but I did not sweat the eggplant as the recipe said. I cubed it and sauted it with the onions. Next time I'll sweat the eggplant longer. Regardless it tasted GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This was delicious. I had to use tomato paste instead of puree (just added water to the thickness of my liking) and used light sour cream instead of the yogurt bc I didn't have any. Fantastic! Tasty & easy. Microwaved the eggplant as suggested. My breadcrumbs didn't get toasty enough but maybe I used too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
shockingly surprised at how good it was, my carnivore boyfriend even enjoyed it! A must cook again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States