Eggplant and Pepper Parmesan Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
Delicious! For those of you who are couting carbs (or just don't have any bread), it's also just as yummy if you simply roll the cheese, peppers and tapanade inside a slice of eggplant and eat it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2002
Very yummy recipe! All the ingredients went together extremely well! I placed the eggplant and peppers (on tin foil) on the outdoor grill and it made them tasty. Also, I slightly browned the bread in a skillet with olive oil. My husband and I both loved this recipe, definite keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
DEFINITE DO-OVER!!! I had to make a few changes because I couldn't get some of the ingredients but it was FABULOUS! Instead of a baguette I used a larger softer bakery bread which worked beautifully. (I sometimes find the baguettes too hard anyway) For the goat cheese I had to substitute feta which I mixed with a bit of plain yougurt to make it more spreadable. Next I added a layer of thinly sliced salami to bump up the protein for my kids, put the tapenade on next... then the grilled veggies and last I put slices of gouda because with the little ones I knew the parmesan would be a disaster. I also put it under the broiler to melt the cheese. I know I changed the recipe a little, but nothing that comprimised it too much in my oppinion. *ALSO* While the veggies were under the broiler, I started the tapenade in the food processor and it zipped together! This was a great lunch for all of us! (parents, 3yr. old & 1.5 yr. old)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PREGOCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dhahran, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
I loved this!! I am trying new foods and new recipes and this one was amazing. I used eggplant, red and yellow peppers, zucchini and mushrooms...wonderful! Great for lunches the next day...just pop it in the microwave when you're ready and it's as good as fresh. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This sandwich is amazing! I'm giving it a four only because I added some ingredients and it took me forever to find tapenade. Like some other reviewers I had never heard of it before and wasn’t even sure if I was pronouncing it right, lol. Your regular grocery store like S&S won't have it but Trader Joes or Whole Foods will. Trader Joes had it in plastic containers in the refrigerated section in with the hummus, etc. You can also find a few different jarred varieties as well at TJs. If all else fails you can find recipes for it (with and without anchioves) on this site. What I did first was salted and sweated baby eggplant slices for 30 mins in a colander and dapped with a paper towel to remove excess moisture and brushed very litely with olive oil. I then sautéed some garlic in a small amount of olive oil and added the red peppers and onions. Once they were tender I removed them and kept warm while I did the eggplant. I only flipped them once but made sure the pan didn’t get too hot as to burn them. I warmed goat cheese on the bread under the broil (on low) and then spread on the tapenade. Then I layered grilled baby eggplant, red peppers and red onions. I topped with provolone cheese and melted under the broil. Finally I finished it all off with some fresh basil leaves. By far the best sandwich I've ever made! Don't let the ingredients scare you off! The tapenade doesn’t overpower the sandwich so I would recommend at least spreading a tiny bit on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
This was delicious and different. Thought the eggplant might taste bland, but the goat cheese really added flavor. Couldn't find tapenade, so I used a small jar of olive pesto I found. I also used goat cheese with roasted garlic and basil in it, used skinny Italian bread (scooped a little bread out of the middle), wrapped all in tinfoil and toasted it in the oven. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
This was really good and very easy to make. I had a large eggplant and 1/2 seemed like plenty. Although very good, the baguette is a little tough on the jaw so I think next time I'll make the sandwiches with pita bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
Great recipe! It was a nice change from the usual and very tasty. I made it for a group of people by making it on one long loaf of french bread, and slicing it into smaller sandwiches. It's great heated, but be careful add the goat cheese after it's been heated - it's so soft when warm it squishes out of the sides. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2002
This was great!! My whole family enjoyed it. I substituted provalone slices for parmesean and grilled the veggies. I couldn't find the tapenade locally, but I made my own olive spread. We will definately have this again. Makes a great light summer supper. Trish in GA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I love these flavors together! I made these for a get together with some girlfriends and received a lot of compliments. I grilled the eggplant and peppers. I brushed the bread with extra virgin olive oil and toasted them on the grill before assembling. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States