Eggplant and Pepper Parmesan Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
This was a good, quick sandwich. I couldn't find ready-made tapenade and didn't feel like making it, so I just spread chopped black olives over the goat cheese. The second time I had the sandwich, I toasted the bread under the broiler, too. I prefer the bread toasted, but it's good either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
I made this at a vegetarian friend's house for a potluck dinner. It was a big hit, and so simple to make (even in an unfamiliar kitchen). I was lucky enough to find a goat cheese tapenade, which cut down on the ingredient list, and I used focaccia instead of the baguette. It turned out so well that I also find myself craving it now and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
This is an excellent recipe. I was fortunate to have been at the bakery upon the shelving of freshly baked French baguette, so the crust was the perfect texture. A black olive tapenade works nicely with the goat cheese (I opted for plain goat cheese as opposed to flavored), and the fusion of these flavors is successful with the roasted eggplant and red pepper. However, for those individuals who are vegetarian and want to prepare this recipe: have caution when selecting tapenade, as some recipes include anchovies. I had to do a bit of searching to find a black olive tapenade that was purely vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
Oh my God!!!!!! This was soooo delicious! Like the submitter, I find myself craving this sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
The first time I made this I didn't have eggplant so substituted zucchini. Since then I've used eggplant and actually prefer the zucchini-but I like it better than eggplant anyway. Also, I didn't measure anything-spread the cheese and tapenade on the bread, layered on the vegetables and sprinkled cheese til it looks good. Easy, fast, and cheaper than a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
Very good sandwich. I made it with focaccia and wrapped it in tinfoil and toasted in the oven as other reviewer suggested. it was different and delicious. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
This was very impressive. I was skeptical of how much I would like it, and my boyfriend didn't like a raw piece of eggplant I gave him. However, the flavor combo of this, wow. Great sandwich! I used the "black olive spread" also featured on the site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
Very good but we had to make alterations from the very beginning. We didn't have tapenade or goat cheese. So we went without the tapenade and used Muenster and Swiss instead. After we put everthing together, we put them under the broiler to let the cheese melt. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hannibal, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2004
WOW! This was excellent--although I did tweak it a LITTLE: I used ciabatta bread, cut in half and spread with an olive feta tapenade, used green pepper instead of red and topped the sandwich with shredded Colby Jack, then warmed the whole thing in the oven until the cheese melted. My boyfriend raved. This sandwich has a very gourmet feel to it and is so simple to make! Very filling also; great served with a side salad. This recipe is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
I loved this!! I am trying new foods and new recipes and this one was amazing. I used eggplant, red and yellow peppers, zucchini and mushrooms...wonderful! Great for lunches the next day...just pop it in the microwave when you're ready and it's as good as fresh. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States