Eggplant and Pepper Parmesan Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
Delicious! For those of you who are couting carbs (or just don't have any bread), it's also just as yummy if you simply roll the cheese, peppers and tapanade inside a slice of eggplant and eat it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
These are my favorite sandwiches to make. They are great cold but wonderful hot like a panini. When I make it hot I omit the olive. Rustic Italian breads like ciabatta and pugliese are great when you can find them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
I really liked this sandwich. I don't like olives so I didn't use the tapenade. Instead of goat cheese I used Provolone. During the last 5 mins of cooking, I added the bread with Provolone on the baking sheet. This is a good change from roast beef! Edit: I made it the proper way this past weekend for me & my husband. I managed to find eggplant tapenade in Whole Foods Market, which is good since I'm not such a fan of olives. I also used basil & garlic flavored goat cheese. I always put this in my reviews- grate your own Parmesean, it is so much better than Kraft. We made 2 sandwhiches on foccacia & 2 on french bread. I wrapped the 2 extra sandwhiches in foil & the next day, all I had to do was unwrap it, put it on a plate & heat it up in the microwave. These were very good, I'm glad I made them 'properly' this time instead of my previous shortcut. These tasted like they came from a gourmet store. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
i have to preface by saying i used green pepper and feta; i can imagine the difference with red pepper and goat cheese. either way, this was nothing special for me. the best thing about it was probably the olive spread, which i had never used before but i'm sure i will now. if you make this, you may want to peel the eggplant before slicing and season with some olive oil and basalmic vinegar, or something to enhance the flavor of the eggplant. it also seems sort of overkill to use goat cheese (or feta for that matter) and parmasean. if you want to make a great veggie sandwich, i recommend the portabello sandwiches from this site. i wanted to love these -- sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
DEFINITE DO-OVER!!! I had to make a few changes because I couldn't get some of the ingredients but it was FABULOUS! Instead of a baguette I used a larger softer bakery bread which worked beautifully. (I sometimes find the baguettes too hard anyway) For the goat cheese I had to substitute feta which I mixed with a bit of plain yougurt to make it more spreadable. Next I added a layer of thinly sliced salami to bump up the protein for my kids, put the tapenade on next... then the grilled veggies and last I put slices of gouda because with the little ones I knew the parmesan would be a disaster. I also put it under the broiler to melt the cheese. I know I changed the recipe a little, but nothing that comprimised it too much in my oppinion. *ALSO* While the veggies were under the broiler, I started the tapenade in the food processor and it zipped together! This was a great lunch for all of us! (parents, 3yr. old & 1.5 yr. old)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PREGOCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dhahran, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Photo by JENN_77
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
I liked it a lot but my boyfriend (who does not like black olives) hated it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN_77

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
These were amazing sandwiches. Really amazing sandwiches. I don't think i've ever received better feedback on something i've cooked; the bread was a nice, basic counter to the saltiness of the tapenade, and the tang from the cheese added that final zing. Great recipe; we'll definitely use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pennington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
We're improving our diets and this recipe is great nutritionally and is very tasty. It certainly will keep our diet from getting boring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
these were delicious!! i made up a whole french roll and wrapped the sandwiches in saran for easy on the go lunches. thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
Very good! I used Alouette garlic and herb cheese spread in place of the goat cheese, and Black Olive Spread from this website instead of the tapenade. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States