Eggplant and Pepper Parmesan Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Great taste but we didn't use the olive spread and we would possibly do this as a wrap next time. Depending on the thickness of the bread you may find that a baguette or french bread is too much bread for this sandwich. You could also double the recipe so that there is a better bread to filling ratio. Very yummy otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
Of course, with every recipe you switch it around to make it fit your palate. I did just this but it's five-stars for posting the idea! 1) Salt your eggplant slices to pull out the bitterness. Rinse before cooking. 2) Brush the eggplant and peppers with olive oil and then sprinkle with black pepper and garlic powder. 3)I followed another reviewer's suggestion and mixed feta with a touch of plain Greek yogurt to make it spreadable. Thank you for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
These were super easy to make, and tasted amazing. Very hearty and savoury! Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
Holy cow these are AWESOME!! My husband and I were looking for a light easy supper to make and tried these. INCREDIBLE! I took another reviewer's recommendation and included red onions and garlic while baking. I'm making these again tonight and tonight we'll make our own roasted red peppers and add it to the sandwich. INCREDIBLE! The mix of cheese and tapenade is great. Very hearty sandwich. Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Berger DeRespinis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springboro, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
one of my favorites! i make it for all my friends and even non-vegetarians love it! i would agree that it comes out soggy so i decrease the amount of oil i use without burning the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
This was a great idea but I went a little further and added a few other roasted veggies like garlic (a lot of garlic, I love it) , red onion, and hot pepper, yum!! Made my own olive tapenade with a little balsamic vinegar in it, and and threw in some fresh herbs too. So delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANELLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kerman, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
This recipe was great for our weekly vegetarian night. Instead of tapenade (since I hate olives) we used half-homemade basil pesto. Be careful of the size of eggplant you buy - we had enough from one eggplant to make two baguettes worth. I also felt silly since I have only cooked unseeded eggplants before and actually have no idea how to seed an eggplant. Thanks for submitting the recipe, and we will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
Wow. Wow. Wow. The best sandwhich ever. I have made them as the recipe dictates, and they are wonderful. I have also added zukes, summer squash, red onion, green pepper and mushrooms (baked along with the eggplant) for a "garden" version. Great way to use up veggies that are hanging around. Agree with previous reviewer - pop the viggies in a covered bowl, and toss with a little balsamic. I have made a whole baguette before, and taken it to a party as an appetizer, cut into mini-portions. Lots of flavors going on - a very sophisticated sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
I added portabella mushroom caps that I sliced up. After I took the veggies out of the oven I put them in a plastic container, sprinkled olive oil and balsamic vinegar on them and tossed them. I also used rye bread I had instead of a baguette. The goat cheese I got was the crumbles and not spreadable. I should have gotten spreadable. Otherwise, it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
DELICIOUS! My husband and I agreed to only eat meat once or twice a week - so I had to start finding recipes that would satisfy my creativity as a cook and and satisfy our hunger. Instead of tapenade I used the Black Olive Spread recipe from this site. I also used mini loafs french loaves instead of a baguette. Although I used goat cheese and liked it - If you don't happen to have goat cheese, or you don't like the taste of it - you can also consider substituting it for cream cheese. They have a similar consistancy and texture. Definitely worth 5 stars! I will be making this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States