Eggplant and Pepper Parmesan Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
This recipe is delicious. However, my grocery store didn't carry tapenade so I got some greek olives that also had feta cheese cubes (from the deli) and some sweet red peppers and put those in the food processor. I also used a goat cheese that had little red peppers in it. It was delicious. Next time I make it though I think I'll cook the eggplant and peppers with a little olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjhopson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This was the bomb. I used my own home made bread and subbed gruyere for the parmesan, which I felt gave it a little more bite. FANTASTIC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EuroGirl6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgeway, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
The first time I made this, I followed the recipe exactly. Then I made it again (because it was so good) and I omitted the Parmesan cheese and added baby spinach, then I put it all on focaccia and baked it at 300 for 5 minutes to warm it up. Yummy! My new favorite sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUTHERMCREE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baldwin, Maine, USA
Living In: Bath, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
This is a great recipe, a different option for yummy sandwiches, but if you want to make it trully vegetarian, you can substitute the goat chesse for soft tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Perfect for a picnic! I like to dip the eggplant slices in italian bread crumbs and bake. Also, add spinach for even better nutrition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This is a great sandwich. I substituted basil pesto for the tapenade and it turned out fabulous. I will be making these again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
What a wonderful vegetarian sandwich! I followed the recipe exactly as written and it was delicious. I slathered goat cheese flavored with garlic and basil on one side of the baguette. The olive tapenade was spread on the other piece of bread. Go heavy on these two condiments. We ate ours hot but I'm sure these would be great cold the next day. The next time I make these, I'm going to double the veggies just so I can make next-day sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
This was such a nice change from the usual sandwich . . . I made a lot of substitutions and it was still excellent. I used toasted whole wheat bread, light spreadable cheese wedges (e.g. laughing cow) instead of goat cheese, and forgot to add the parm. I was out of tapenade so I just processed a teaspoon of capers with 10-12 black olives and used that. I even forgot the parmesan at the end, but enjoyed it anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This was absolutely delicious! I made a few changes though. I added balsmic vinegar to the bottom half of the bread, so that it would soak in the bread and not run off the sides. I then layered sundried tomatoes on top. Instead of goat cheese, I used provolone on top of the sundried tomatoes. The store didn't have tapenade so I used basil pesto, which I spread on the top half of the bread. I then layered the hot eggplant and red peppers on top of the provolone. It was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
i always steal recipes, but never leave reviews...until now. since we made these sandwiches, we have become regular eggplant eaters! sundried tomatoes put this dish over the top. i've tried the whole ones in oil and more recently, sundried tomato paste on the bread...yummy! thank you for the excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States