Eggplant and Pepper Parmesan Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I thought this recipe was terrible. I tried it because of all the great reviews but the tapenade and goat cheese had a strong taste and didnt compliment each other. I made another sandwich with eggplant, red peppers, lemon cilatro hummus and it tasted so much better. I will not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This sandwich is amazing! I'm giving it a four only because I added some ingredients and it took me forever to find tapenade. Like some other reviewers I had never heard of it before and wasn’t even sure if I was pronouncing it right, lol. Your regular grocery store like S&S won't have it but Trader Joes or Whole Foods will. Trader Joes had it in plastic containers in the refrigerated section in with the hummus, etc. You can also find a few different jarred varieties as well at TJs. If all else fails you can find recipes for it (with and without anchioves) on this site. What I did first was salted and sweated baby eggplant slices for 30 mins in a colander and dapped with a paper towel to remove excess moisture and brushed very litely with olive oil. I then sautéed some garlic in a small amount of olive oil and added the red peppers and onions. Once they were tender I removed them and kept warm while I did the eggplant. I only flipped them once but made sure the pan didn’t get too hot as to burn them. I warmed goat cheese on the bread under the broil (on low) and then spread on the tapenade. Then I layered grilled baby eggplant, red peppers and red onions. I topped with provolone cheese and melted under the broil. Finally I finished it all off with some fresh basil leaves. By far the best sandwich I've ever made! Don't let the ingredients scare you off! The tapenade doesn’t overpower the sandwich so I would recommend at least spreading a tiny bit on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
This recipe is delicious. However, my grocery store didn't carry tapenade so I got some greek olives that also had feta cheese cubes (from the deli) and some sweet red peppers and put those in the food processor. I also used a goat cheese that had little red peppers in it. It was delicious. Next time I make it though I think I'll cook the eggplant and peppers with a little olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjhopson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This was the bomb. I used my own home made bread and subbed gruyere for the parmesan, which I felt gave it a little more bite. FANTASTIC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EuroGirl6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgeway, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
The first time I made this, I followed the recipe exactly. Then I made it again (because it was so good) and I omitted the Parmesan cheese and added baby spinach, then I put it all on focaccia and baked it at 300 for 5 minutes to warm it up. Yummy! My new favorite sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUTHERMCREE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baldwin, Maine, USA
Living In: Bath, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
This is a great recipe, a different option for yummy sandwiches, but if you want to make it trully vegetarian, you can substitute the goat chesse for soft tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Perfect for a picnic! I like to dip the eggplant slices in italian bread crumbs and bake. Also, add spinach for even better nutrition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This is a great sandwich. I substituted basil pesto for the tapenade and it turned out fabulous. I will be making these again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
What a wonderful vegetarian sandwich! I followed the recipe exactly as written and it was delicious. I slathered goat cheese flavored with garlic and basil on one side of the baguette. The olive tapenade was spread on the other piece of bread. Go heavy on these two condiments. We ate ours hot but I'm sure these would be great cold the next day. The next time I make these, I'm going to double the veggies just so I can make next-day sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
This was such a nice change from the usual sandwich . . . I made a lot of substitutions and it was still excellent. I used toasted whole wheat bread, light spreadable cheese wedges (e.g. laughing cow) instead of goat cheese, and forgot to add the parm. I was out of tapenade so I just processed a teaspoon of capers with 10-12 black olives and used that. I even forgot the parmesan at the end, but enjoyed it anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States