Eggplant and Pepper Parmesan Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Absolutely awesome sandwich recipe! Although I'm sure it tastes delicious as is, I think it also makes a great base for experimenting. As per another person's suggestion, I spread goat cheese on one side and cream cheese on the other. I couldn't find tapenade so I made a mixture of olive oil, minced garlic, cayenne and italian seasoning and spread that on instead. I lightly drizzled the vegetables with olive oil and seasoned with salt, pepper and cayenne. The end result was awesome and flavorful. Next time I think I'd toast the bread or get focaccia bread like another suggestion. Either way it was fun to make and easy to adjust to my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
this recipe was incredible!! i added cream cheese on one side to balance the strong taste of the goat cheese. you could also leave the goat cheese off and substitute the cream cheese. i forgot the parm at the end but it didn't matter, it was awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
A great summer sandwich! We used fresh tomato instead of the red peppers and melted mozzarella instead of the Parmesan and it was FABULOUS. I think the Parmesan cheese would have gone along better than the mozzarella and will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I made this with brown mustard instead of the tapenade and used an english muffin instead of the french baguette, but it was still amazingly delicious! Eggplant is a new ingredient that I have started trying and I definitely enjoyed this recipe for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
simple yet delicious!! I had no parmesan but found it didn't need it. I also drizzled a tiny bit of olive oil on top of the vegetables to make it less dry. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I threw a little balsamic on the veggies while they were roasting. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Boy this was delicious! I made it with eggplant, red pepper, and zucchini. I sprayed the veggies with a little PAM before broiling, but forgot to salt and pepper them. I liked that the veggies weren't oily, but next time I think I would brush them with a little olive oil, remember to salt and pepper them, and maybe add a few red pepper flakes. I put the whole sandwich together adding a little minced garlic along with the goat cheese and tapenade and then broiled it open faced for a minute or two to melt the parmesan and toast the bread. It tasted just like a sub from a restaurant or an Italian deli. You could also modify this recipe in a million ways to suit your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I thought this recipe was terrible. I tried it because of all the great reviews but the tapenade and goat cheese had a strong taste and didnt compliment each other. I made another sandwich with eggplant, red peppers, lemon cilatro hummus and it tasted so much better. I will not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This sandwich is amazing! I'm giving it a four only because I added some ingredients and it took me forever to find tapenade. Like some other reviewers I had never heard of it before and wasn’t even sure if I was pronouncing it right, lol. Your regular grocery store like S&S won't have it but Trader Joes or Whole Foods will. Trader Joes had it in plastic containers in the refrigerated section in with the hummus, etc. You can also find a few different jarred varieties as well at TJs. If all else fails you can find recipes for it (with and without anchioves) on this site. What I did first was salted and sweated baby eggplant slices for 30 mins in a colander and dapped with a paper towel to remove excess moisture and brushed very litely with olive oil. I then sautéed some garlic in a small amount of olive oil and added the red peppers and onions. Once they were tender I removed them and kept warm while I did the eggplant. I only flipped them once but made sure the pan didn’t get too hot as to burn them. I warmed goat cheese on the bread under the broil (on low) and then spread on the tapenade. Then I layered grilled baby eggplant, red peppers and red onions. I topped with provolone cheese and melted under the broil. Finally I finished it all off with some fresh basil leaves. By far the best sandwich I've ever made! Don't let the ingredients scare you off! The tapenade doesn’t overpower the sandwich so I would recommend at least spreading a tiny bit on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
This recipe is delicious. However, my grocery store didn't carry tapenade so I got some greek olives that also had feta cheese cubes (from the deli) and some sweet red peppers and put those in the food processor. I also used a goat cheese that had little red peppers in it. It was delicious. Next time I make it though I think I'll cook the eggplant and peppers with a little olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjhopson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States