Eggplant and Mushrooms with Wild Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
This was a wonderfully different way to eat eggplant. I am an eggplant lover, so I don't need it to be hidden away, but my husband liked this too, and he's NOT an eggplant fan normally. Because I had a package of Uncle Ben's long grain and wild rice, I used that for the wild rice, and I used the seasoning packet that came with the rice with water in place of the Italian seasoning and stock. But otherwise I followed the instructions exactly. It was delicious, and made great leftovers too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Very tasty. A little rich however for a side dish and that was even using milk rather than cream. Next time I will halve the recipe and 1/4 the sauce, leaving out the cream of mushroom soup and thicken the sauce with a touch of flour. The left overs are not good - the ingredients all become mush. Only make enough for that night according to number of diners. As is I would say it serves 6-8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
This was not a hit in my family. It is not even worthy of keeping leftovers. It has an odd taste from the Italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
good worth trying again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Very rich and creamy. Reminds me of Italian risotto. I really liked a lot. I have substituted with sour cream instead of half & half, but will try with half & half (or even milk) for a bit lighter texture. Also I doubled the amount of wild rice. Since the base is rather rich, I think that wild rice is a good choice for the entire texture and balance. Will reduce amount of salt/pepper/Italian seasoning a bit next time, as the chicken broth has enough flavor on its own. Or perhaps use vegetable broth for lighter flavor. Love it! Very flavorful and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by montycat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I gave it four stars because it started me off on the right path to a new vegetarian dish. I subbed/omitted to much to make any comments. Thanks for the idea:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
In my opinion, this is too heavy for a side dish. It is a fantastic recipe. I made a few substitutions: veg broth, creamed golden mushroom soup and extra garlic. I wound up adding more rice to absorb the extra liquid. To make this a main dish meal, I added seasoned ground beef (it was what I had on hand). I will be making this again but will try ground Italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Haiko
Home Town: Muscle Shoals, Alabama, USA
Living In: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This is a simple recipe that is creamy, has great flavor and a rustic, homey feel! I had to make a few adjustments based on what I had on had (veggie broth instead of chicken broth, evaporated milk instead of half and half, and brown rice instead of wild rice, and baby bella mushrooms) but it was still delicious and a hit with the whole family, even my picky eater/semi-vegetarian daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montclair, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I cook up a few chicken breasts and add them with the rice all chopped up. Good meal on a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This is the first eggplant recipe I've ever liked, and it's delicious. With family dietary restrictions in mind, I skipped the last 3 ingredients. It was wonderful on baked potatoes. Also, we added soy parmaesan on top to add a bit of zip. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Wild Mushrooms & Potatoes

See how to make autumn's perfect side dish.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Chef John's Farro with Wild Mushrooms

Delicious dish with farro, wild mushrooms and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States