Eggplant and Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
This is a really easy and a flavorful recipe. I made minor changes like olive oil instead of butter. I used Italian whole tomatoes instead of fresh tomatoes. I also added extra spices like Turmeric and Garam Masala. Over jasmine rice this is delicious. Made twice and always a winner. Eggplant in water and salt a great tip. I added a little lemon juice to keep the eggplant from browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iris Velazquez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Based on past comments, I made some adjustments to the ingredients and halved this recipe. And it was still an entire crockpot full! GREAT comfort food. My ingredients are below: 1 lb lamb (I used lamb chops bc I couldn't find a lamb shoulder) 1 large eggplant 1 large onion 1 green bell pepper 2 carrots 5 cloves garlic 1 can stewed tomatoes, drained 1 T tomato paste 1/3 c red wine 1/2 t allspice 1/2 t cumin 1/2 t cayenne pepper 1/2 t cinnamon 1/2 t paprika 1 t salt 1/2 t black pepper Threw in a crockpot and cooked on low for 6 hours. Easy! Next time, I'm going to try it without the cinnamon and I'll add a bay leaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ash

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coldwater, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Wow! Really good. I added cumin and coriander and garam masala. Used beef because I had no lamb. The flavors really blended well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Ive been making this for a few years now, trying desperately to recreate my friends mothers recipe. Tonight I got as close as I'm ever going to get.... changes are as follows: 1) use more lamb - i used about 3 lbs of shoulder steaks, cut up prior to cooking. 2) i tossed the lamb with flour, salt, pepper and oregano and browned in olive oil. 3) i only used 1 eggplant, 1 green pepper and 1 yellow onion 4) For the sauce I used 1 large can (28 oz?) of diced tomatoes, 1 6oz can tomato paste, 32 oz of beef stock and 1/2 c red wine. 5) for seasonings (which i added in the last 20-30 min of cooking time) i used 1 T garam masala, 1 t hot madras curry, 1/2 t oregano and 1/2 t sage; salt, pepper to taste. Also used some cayenne pepper for kick. Cooked for a total of 2 hours. Flour from meat thickened up the stew nicely, even with the extra liquids. Served over basmati rice. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
We followed the directions of the recipe exactly with no modifications. There seemed to be too much veggies (eggplant, onions, tomatoes, etc) compared to how much lamb was in the dish. The vegetables were also a bit bland. We added more salt and other spices to add some kick and it still didn't help the dish by much. I liked the lamb in the dish, and would have liked more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Fantastic! My husband and I both really enjoyed the savory Middle Eastern stew. The 4 stars are only because I made some substitutions and additions, so it would be disingenuous to rate this recipe 5 stars. I used the vegetables from our garden, the only thing we didn't have was green pepper, so I used summer squash instead. I also switched cinnamon and clove for the allspice and added a dark ale instead of water. Delicious -- I will make it this way again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Great way to sneak eggplants into my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I substituted 1 can stewed tomatoes, Used garlic salt in same measurement as regular salt.Added shoulder joint and 600 gms of cubed lamb (as others suggested was not enough lamb).Cut eggplant in large chunks, placed in cockpot was bland at first but spices built on my palate and it became more flavorful. served with cornbread...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Slade Talbot

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Fab! I don't like watery sauces, so even though I served this with couscous, I added 3tbs of flour after I browned the meat and veg. No peppers in the house, so I added about a cup of zucchini for some color. W/O the meat, this would be a good dish for vegetarians over the rice or couscous. I like something somewhat substantial that can do as a side for everyone but a main for those who don't eat meat. Would go well with a grilled leg of lamb, or chicken breast marinated in a similar spice mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Perfect stew anytime of the year, however, really hit the spot on a cold, winter day like today! This stew melts in your mouth. I made a few revisions: 1. Used 4 shoulder bone-in lamb chops 2. Used 1 can stewed tomatoes (with liquid) instead of 2 large tomatoes. 3. added cumin, paprika, and cinnamon (about 1 tsp+ each) 4. Added 2 large chopped carrots 5. Threw in a Turkish bay leaf Because I used lamp shoulder chops instead of a roast, I let the stew simmer for about 1 hour, then just let it sit on the stovetop. It's amazing how the eggplant just shrinks as it cooks. Chop the eggplant into somewhat large pieces. These are the types of meals we traditionally cook (my family is from Turkey). This meal was ridiculously easy and is so healthy. We serve this over basmati or jasmine rice. Or, we eat with fresh baked Panera bread (warmed in oven) with butter. It's great to dip the bread in the juices of the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tugba Emily Madaus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vernon Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Middleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

How to Make Braised Lamb Shanks

Watch Chef John make succulent, fragrant, slightly spicy lamb shanks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States