Eggplant and Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
GREAT. Used a left over lamb half serloin, with bone. Cut down on eggplant (I love it, family doesn't) and served over cous-cous with plain yogurt and cucumers on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
Loved it, I used red wine instead of water, added some chilies for spice and put in an extra eggplant. I ate it with Brown Basmati Rice and a yogurt recipe from Sharon's Scrumptious Souvlaki. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
This was scrumptious!! I used only 1 large green bell pepper as I find them strong tasting. The allspice was just heavenly and the eggplant had a lovely texture. I used butterfly leg lamb instead but I will try it with the shoulder next time. My 2 1/2 year old turned up his nose, he didn't know what he missed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
Wonderful! My husband's usually the one who makes the Middle-Eastern dishes, but since he's away I decided to give this recipe a try. Eggplants make me nervous, so I just used one. Although I love garlic, I was a bit wary of using 10 cloves, so I used 5 and then threw in a hot jamaican pepper for some heat. I let it simmer for just over an hour. The meat was so tender I didn't need a knife to cut it. I served it with rice, but I'm sure it would also be good with couscous. I can't wait to surprise my husband with this one when he gets back. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
I had my doubts about this recipe, when I first saw it. It is fabulous!!! This lamb stew recipe uses ingredients I tend to have on hand and is so flavorful and simple. The vegetables meld into a wonderful thick sauce thanks to the eggplant. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
This was unbeleivably delicious. Forgot to add the allspice but it was good regardless. Will add next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
What a great stew!! My husband said this was restaurant quality and is one of his favorite meals I have ever made. I tinkered with it just a bit... used left over leg of lamb and instead of water I used some of the lamb stock from the leg of lamb. I also added a bit of red pepper flakes as I thought it needed a bit of zip. This will be made again and again. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I made this recipe not with lamb but with stew beef I needed to use up. I didn't have allspice so I substituted ground cloves and cinnamon, otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. It came out super tasty and flavorful, and very healthy. I like the recommendation below about the wine. Next time I'll try that. Served with couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I was skeptical that it would taste as good as it did with so little seasoning and effort. I don't even like lamb, but I decided to make it for my boyfriend, and we both couldn't get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
My husband and I absolutely loved this recipe. I used shoulder steaks since that is what I had on hand. Prep work is the only "con" to this recipe. It took about 45 minutes to chop all the veggies (which my lovely husband did while I pain-stakingly picked every ounce of meat off the bones). I browned the chunks/shreds of lamb in the pot before adding the remaining ingredients. For me it was easier than fishing the bones out of the stew. I also soaked my chopped eggplant in salt water for about 30 min to an hour before cooking in stew (this helps to remove some of the bitterness from the eggplant). I also added a whole can (i think it was the 4 oz size) of tomato paste for a richer tomato base. The extra paste also helped thicken the liquid in this stew. I will be making this again and again. 4* for recipe as is, but is 5* with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

Chef John’s Lamb Moussaka Burger

Watch Chef John turn a classic Greek casserole into amazing lamb burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States