Eggplant and Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
Pretty good. I didn't let it simmer for the full hour and a half, probably just under an hour. I suggest mixing the allspice, salt and pepper in with the tomato-water mixture as it's more easily distributed in the stew that way. Also I added more peppers and eggplant than the recipe called for. Goes well with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
This was scrumptious!! I used only 1 large green bell pepper as I find them strong tasting. The allspice was just heavenly and the eggplant had a lovely texture. I used butterfly leg lamb instead but I will try it with the shoulder next time. My 2 1/2 year old turned up his nose, he didn't know what he missed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
Wonderful! My husband's usually the one who makes the Middle-Eastern dishes, but since he's away I decided to give this recipe a try. Eggplants make me nervous, so I just used one. Although I love garlic, I was a bit wary of using 10 cloves, so I used 5 and then threw in a hot jamaican pepper for some heat. I let it simmer for just over an hour. The meat was so tender I didn't need a knife to cut it. I served it with rice, but I'm sure it would also be good with couscous. I can't wait to surprise my husband with this one when he gets back. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
Good but not great. I thought this stew had a nice suble flavour, but I was looking for a more robust taste. I added the lamb bones into the stew which added some flavour and tasted great the next day. Served it over couscous with a little yogurt on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
GREAT. Used a left over lamb half serloin, with bone. Cut down on eggplant (I love it, family doesn't) and served over cous-cous with plain yogurt and cucumers on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
I had my doubts about this recipe, when I first saw it. It is fabulous!!! This lamb stew recipe uses ingredients I tend to have on hand and is so flavorful and simple. The vegetables meld into a wonderful thick sauce thanks to the eggplant. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
This was unbeleivably delicious. Forgot to add the allspice but it was good regardless. Will add next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
What a great stew!! My husband said this was restaurant quality and is one of his favorite meals I have ever made. I tinkered with it just a bit... used left over leg of lamb and instead of water I used some of the lamb stock from the leg of lamb. I also added a bit of red pepper flakes as I thought it needed a bit of zip. This will be made again and again. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
Loved it, I used red wine instead of water, added some chilies for spice and put in an extra eggplant. I ate it with Brown Basmati Rice and a yogurt recipe from Sharon's Scrumptious Souvlaki. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I made this recipe not with lamb but with stew beef I needed to use up. I didn't have allspice so I substituted ground cloves and cinnamon, otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. It came out super tasty and flavorful, and very healthy. I like the recommendation below about the wine. Next time I'll try that. Served with couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

Chef John’s Lamb Moussaka Burger

Watch Chef John turn a classic Greek casserole into amazing lamb burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States