Eggplant and Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
This is a really easy and a flavorful recipe. I made minor changes like olive oil instead of butter. I used Italian whole tomatoes instead of fresh tomatoes. I also added extra spices like Turmeric and Garam Masala. Over jasmine rice this is delicious. Made twice and always a winner. Eggplant in water and salt a great tip. I added a little lemon juice to keep the eggplant from browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iris Velazquez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
ALLSPICE IS FOR PICKLES, ISN'T IT? I made this recipe three times. The first time I made it almost exactly as written (I did however additionally soak the eggplant in very salty water overnight to remove the horrible-tasting bitter juices - and rinsed well - something I learned from my Middle Eastern friends - something that people who hate eggplant because it tastes bitter need to learn - I don't know what the minimum soak time for that is). I didn't especially like the allspice seasoning flavor as it reminded me of pickles - my husband liked it though. The second time I made it using Saudi Arabian Baharat (I make my own spice blends) and turmeric for the seasoning and I thought it was quite good. My husband thought both spice versions were equally good. This is the recipe that I will make again (different seasoning). The third time I made it in the crock pot after initial browning and preparation on the stove top, and it was okay but I think it was better cooked entirely on the stove top because it seemed fresher when it was cooked more quickly. So the bottom line is that I didn't like the allspice seasoning, and would never make it like that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Based on past comments, I made some adjustments to the ingredients and halved this recipe. And it was still an entire crockpot full! GREAT comfort food. My ingredients are below: 1 lb lamb (I used lamb chops bc I couldn't find a lamb shoulder) 1 large eggplant 1 large onion 1 green bell pepper 2 carrots 5 cloves garlic 1 can stewed tomatoes, drained 1 T tomato paste 1/3 c red wine 1/2 t allspice 1/2 t cumin 1/2 t cayenne pepper 1/2 t cinnamon 1/2 t paprika 1 t salt 1/2 t black pepper Threw in a crockpot and cooked on low for 6 hours. Easy! Next time, I'm going to try it without the cinnamon and I'll add a bay leaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ash

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coldwater, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Wow! Really good. I added cumin and coriander and garam masala. Used beef because I had no lamb. The flavors really blended well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Ive been making this for a few years now, trying desperately to recreate my friends mothers recipe. Tonight I got as close as I'm ever going to get.... changes are as follows: 1) use more lamb - i used about 3 lbs of shoulder steaks, cut up prior to cooking. 2) i tossed the lamb with flour, salt, pepper and oregano and browned in olive oil. 3) i only used 1 eggplant, 1 green pepper and 1 yellow onion 4) For the sauce I used 1 large can (28 oz?) of diced tomatoes, 1 6oz can tomato paste, 32 oz of beef stock and 1/2 c red wine. 5) for seasonings (which i added in the last 20-30 min of cooking time) i used 1 T garam masala, 1 t hot madras curry, 1/2 t oregano and 1/2 t sage; salt, pepper to taste. Also used some cayenne pepper for kick. Cooked for a total of 2 hours. Flour from meat thickened up the stew nicely, even with the extra liquids. Served over basmati rice. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
We followed the directions of the recipe exactly with no modifications. There seemed to be too much veggies (eggplant, onions, tomatoes, etc) compared to how much lamb was in the dish. The vegetables were also a bit bland. We added more salt and other spices to add some kick and it still didn't help the dish by much. I liked the lamb in the dish, and would have liked more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Fantastic! My husband and I both really enjoyed the savory Middle Eastern stew. The 4 stars are only because I made some substitutions and additions, so it would be disingenuous to rate this recipe 5 stars. I used the vegetables from our garden, the only thing we didn't have was green pepper, so I used summer squash instead. I also switched cinnamon and clove for the allspice and added a dark ale instead of water. Delicious -- I will make it this way again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Great way to sneak eggplants into my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I substituted 1 can stewed tomatoes, Used garlic salt in same measurement as regular salt.Added shoulder joint and 600 gms of cubed lamb (as others suggested was not enough lamb).Cut eggplant in large chunks, placed in cockpot was bland at first but spices built on my palate and it became more flavorful. served with cornbread...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Fab! I don't like watery sauces, so even though I served this with couscous, I added 3tbs of flour after I browned the meat and veg. No peppers in the house, so I added about a cup of zucchini for some color. W/O the meat, this would be a good dish for vegetarians over the rice or couscous. I like something somewhat substantial that can do as a side for everyone but a main for those who don't eat meat. Would go well with a grilled leg of lamb, or chicken breast marinated in a similar spice mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

Chef John’s Lamb Moussaka Burger

Watch Chef John turn a classic Greek casserole into amazing lamb burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States