Eggplant and Ground Beef Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I have had a lapband for several years. It makes it impossible to enjoy lasagne as it gets stuck. This recipe which I made last night, with one small deviation, is the answer to my prayers for a great "lasagne.". The eggplant makes a wonderful substitute for lasagne noodles. I added a palmful of Italian seasoning. Shredded Parmesan cheese to top of the richness. The recipe is a wonderful base recipe. We didn't miss the noodles at all. This is great for gluten free diets also. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joydee Mccorkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gladstone, Oregon, USA
Living In: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I have made lasagne many times but this is the first time I added eggplant. I made the recipe exactly as written and this was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I made a few changes. I used jarred spaghetti sauce instead of canned tomatoes to get more flavor. I used the same amount of sauce as I would have used in tomatoes. It needed more sauce (as someone else also mentioned). So I had to add more. The other change I made was to use a different shredded cheese. I opted for an Italian 5 cheese blend as husband doesn't care for cheddar. It was a nice lasagna. However, the eggplant did not get cooked. (even with increasing the cooking time) I sliced it thin too. Next time I may either cube it and cook with the beef and sauce, or may pan fry it slightly before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
No pasta!! The whole point of making eggplant lasagna is to eliminate the pasta. Believe me, it is delicious! I grill the 1/4" slices of eggplant before I place them in the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CDabis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hannibal, Missouri, USA
Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela Sackett
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
changes made: replaced noodles completely with eggplant. left out mushrooms (only because i let them go bad. i confess.) doubled fresh garlic. replaced ground beef with ground sausage. all VERY good. i DO recommend using the sauce as directed - it's so easy and way better than jar sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Ditch the noodles, increase the eggplant and don't bother peeling them. Use young tender eggplant and enjoy the benefits of the phenolic compounds in the peel. Lightly grill eggplant slices in a small amount of extra virgin olive oil if you want before adding. No cheddar please. Italian blend or mozzarella, provolone, and parmesan used together are wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I made this exactly according to directions, and it was fantastic! Thank you for such an easy, delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Will need to produce more sauce for next time. Maybe add some tomato sauce or paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
This was amazing.. made a few changes.. used turkey meat and no mushrooms. Next time we will add turkey sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Big Bear City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I found this recipe when I was looking for a tasty lasagna( I don't like regular lasagna ). Right off from the first time I loved this recipe. ( I did not use the regular noodles because I just assumed to use the eggplant. And have ever since). I have on different occasions used ground turkey, chicken sausage, ground pork,different cheeses...etc. my point is this is a great recipe to do a lot of different things or just stick with the basics, they are all good. Bethany, thank you for sharing. My family and I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Lasagna

Layers of breaded roasted eggplant with ground beef, tomato sauce, and cheese.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States