Eggplant and Ground Beef Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Very good. Used double the ground beef and 1/2 the crushed tomatoes. Substituted the other 1/2 of the crushed tomatoes with spaghetti sauce. Then used even more spaghetti sauce, to taste. We like our lasagna saucy. We have had it as directed and found it to be a bit too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angall7

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I made it according to the direction but I made a little changes that definitely made a huge difference with the flavor! I slightly browned the garlic and onions and used tomato sauce instead of canned tomatoes, I fried the eggplant first, browned both side. It made it more flavorful and not watery. Before serving, garnish it with parsley! it is absolutely delish! good luck guys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Outstanding recipe with or without the lasagne noodles.Eggplant and mushrooms are a wonderful taste combination. I used Cheddar and Asiago cheese because that's what was handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I found this recipe when I was looking for a tasty lasagna( I don't like regular lasagna ). Right off from the first time I loved this recipe. ( I did not use the regular noodles because I just assumed to use the eggplant. And have ever since). I have on different occasions used ground turkey, chicken sausage, ground pork,different cheeses...etc. my point is this is a great recipe to do a lot of different things or just stick with the basics, they are all good. Bethany, thank you for sharing. My family and I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
If you love eggplant parm but want a healthier version, this is it. Add more tomato sauce to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Very easy and good use for summer veggies. I also omitted the lasagna noodles to improve the carb situation. Like another reviewer also used some tomato sauce and some fresh tomatoes to give it a little richness and I added in some yellow pepper because I had so many. I also didn't bother with the layers of eggplant. I just diced them up and sautéed them with everything else (okay strictly speaking this would not really be lasagna, but it simplified the whole thing!). We enjoyed it and will make a again, though my DH and I thought we would add a little crushed red pepper next time to give it some umpf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Good lasagna recipe. Excellent leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I made this recipe step by step for dinner last night. Unfortunately I found this recipe lacking. I felt the recipe was tasteless and dry. One the bright side a nice glass of wine was able to enhance the meal! Sorry........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Poppy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
This was edible but soooooo bland! Even my daughter who loves eggplant didn't care much for this recipe. I took the leftovers and added more spices and garlic and a bit more cheese and it was much better. Not one I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Fantastic! I added a lot more mushrooms, some tomato paste, and a full pound of ground beef because I had them on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobyn42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States