Eggplant and Ground Beef Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I have had a lapband for several years. It makes it impossible to enjoy lasagne as it gets stuck. This recipe which I made last night, with one small deviation, is the answer to my prayers for a great "lasagne.". The eggplant makes a wonderful substitute for lasagne noodles. I added a palmful of Italian seasoning. Shredded Parmesan cheese to top of the richness. The recipe is a wonderful base recipe. We didn't miss the noodles at all. This is great for gluten free diets also. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gladstone, Oregon, USA
Living In: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I have made lasagne many times but this is the first time I added eggplant. I made the recipe exactly as written and this was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
This was amazing.. made a few changes.. used turkey meat and no mushrooms. Next time we will add turkey sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Big Bear City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Will need to produce more sauce for next time. Maybe add some tomato sauce or paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I made this exactly according to directions, and it was fantastic! Thank you for such an easy, delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I made a few changes. I used jarred spaghetti sauce instead of canned tomatoes to get more flavor. I used the same amount of sauce as I would have used in tomatoes. It needed more sauce (as someone else also mentioned). So I had to add more. The other change I made was to use a different shredded cheese. I opted for an Italian 5 cheese blend as husband doesn't care for cheddar. It was a nice lasagna. However, the eggplant did not get cooked. (even with increasing the cooking time) I sliced it thin too. Next time I may either cube it and cook with the beef and sauce, or may pan fry it slightly before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
also added some cottage cheese - otherwise followed directions. delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by superhotmama
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
changes made: replaced noodles completely with eggplant. left out mushrooms (only because i let them go bad. i confess.) doubled fresh garlic. replaced ground beef with ground sausage. all VERY good. i DO recommend using the sauce as directed - it's so easy and way better than jar sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
No pasta!! The whole point of making eggplant lasagna is to eliminate the pasta. Believe me, it is delicious! I grill the 1/4" slices of eggplant before I place them in the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CDabis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hannibal, Missouri, USA
Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Ditch the noodles, increase the eggplant and don't bother peeling them. Use young tender eggplant and enjoy the benefits of the phenolic compounds in the peel. Lightly grill eggplant slices in a small amount of extra virgin olive oil if you want before adding. No cheddar please. Italian blend or mozzarella, provolone, and parmesan used together are wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States