Eggplant-Ziti Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I substitute Italian sausage for the eggplant. Brown the sausage first. I also cook onion and green pepper with the sausage and a can of diced tomatoes (drained).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Just made this for dinner. Made quite a few changes as soon as I read the recipe. I skipped the first step because I didn't have the time and also because my eggplant had no seeds at all!!! That's a first for me. But skipping that step didn't seem to make a difference. I also knew it needed some serious spicing added!!! Added garlic powder, basil, oregano, salt & pepper to the cheese mixture. That was a no brainer!!!. I made my own sauce and added the same spices with addition of red pepper flakes. I don't know how anyone could prepare this dish written the way it was. Of course it had no flavor!!! I also used twice as much sauce than the recipe called for. But the recipe is a good starting point. I'll make this again (with all my changes). Might even throw in some ground Italian sausage next time!!!! Now what am I going to do with all these leftovers???!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I diced the eggplant and used fresh tomatoes from the garden seasoned with Italian seasoning - mixed all ingredients together instead of layer - turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Moe Curro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Definitely needs more flavor so I will have to do some tweaking but this recipe was very easy and still a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
We love eggplant but we didn't really like it in this recipe. It really needs more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Saugerties, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
A great way to use eggplant! I admit to being a bit nervous about not cooking the eggplant first but, if you slice the eggplant very thin, no need to worry. They cooked beautifully with the ziti. Aside from using about twice more sauce than the cook suggested, I followed this recipe exactly as written and it was a huge winner for me. Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I made this without draining the eggplant, and it didn't turn out soggy at all. The texture was nice, and it made a good hearty meal with garlic bread. My only complaint was that it needed a lot more zing than just the marinara sauce. I will definitely try this recipe again, but I'll add my own seasonings, herbs, and probably some extra veggies for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Eggplant was blah. The rest wasn't exciting. Not to mention we had WAY too much leftovers for 2 people. Will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
My husband is a huge meat eater, so I diced the eggplant up & breaded it with Italian bread crumbs in order to give it more of a meaty texture. I added some mushrooms, onions, tomatoes & zucchini to the bottom layer. I used whole wheat pasta & left it out of the layers because I had accidentally over cooked them over the stove & didn't want them to get anymore soggy in the oven. I just served the Eggplant Parmesan on top of the noodles like you would spaghetti. The cheesy layer on top of the eggplant & other veggies was delish! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I had my reservations about this recipe and rightfully so. If I could give this no stars I would, simply because the eggplant added nothing, actually detracted from, the ziti. It was flavorless and most people, including myself just kind of picked it out of the dish. I should have stuck with my spinach baked ziti instead. If I were to try this again, a big if, I would either make or use the ready-made frozen breaded eggplant slices. Maybe then it would meld with the dish better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States