Eggplant Tomato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Great recipe! Simple, easy, healthy, and versatile. We used a variety of cheeses (each type by itself): swiss, meunster, feta, and aged hard cheese. Pick your favorite! We also enjoyed adding sprigs of fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
This was good. But like others, I changed it a little. First, I brushed the eggplant with olive oil and broiled it. Then I topped it with the tomatoe and feta with some dried basil and put it under the broiler for an additional minute or two. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I thought this was great! I did take the suggestions and brush the eggplant with olive oil. I also sprinkled the eggplant and tomato with basil, salt and pepper. It was delicious and filling. I ate it as a dinner but it would make a great side dish too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
I thought this was just ok. We weren't crazy about the eggplant part of it, and we enjoyed the tomatoes on top much better. I'm not sure I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
Simple, light, quick, and really quite good. After a couple of bites we declared this dish an everyday keeper. It even looks attractive on the plate. I do think the recipe is improved by taking a moment to add a little seasoning. Here are the details of what I did: Instead of using a greased cookie sheet, I used parchment paper. Before cooking, using a paint brush, I brushed each side of the eggplant slices with olive oil to coat the entire surface and then seasoned well with salt and black pepper on both sides. Then I sprinkled on some dried basil (had no fresh basil on hand). Topped this with the tomato slice and then topped that with FRESH grated parmesan cheese. 400 degrees for about 20 minutes did the trick; timing was not too critical.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
This was not a bad recipe overall, but I would definitely add more spices or herbs so it isn't as bland, and would recommend peeling at least some of the skin off eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange City, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
We really liked this. Although I did take other reviewers' suggestions... I added some salt and pepper and sprinkled a little dried basil on top. I also used regular Parmesan instead of fat free. I couldn't imagine it being as tasty without these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISRIZZIO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Very tasty. I added salt, pepper, & italian herbs to spice it up. Baked dish much longer than 15 minutes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
My husband looked at this and thought - no way will I eat it - but he did & now he loves it! This will become a staple quickie for us here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
I breaded the eggplant first. Otherwise I followed the directions. I did add mozz. cheese on top. However, it still was bland. I had to cut it up and mix it into my pasta with sauce. Next time I would use heavy seasoning to give it a taste. the left overs I layered in a baking dish and put sauce and mozzarella on. came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

How to Cook Eggplant

Watch how to prepare and cook this extremely versatile vegetable.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States