Eggplant Tomato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
This recipe was a BIG hit with the family! A couple pointers: use Italian eggplant, it's smaller and more tender, but the perfect size to pile vine tomatoes on. I brushed the eggplant with olive oil per other comments, the eggplant was very tender. I also put a sprinkle of mozzerella cheese on the top of the parmesean, it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by althee921

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
This recipe didn't turn out at all and I'm not sure what went wrong as I followed the directions. The eggplant was complete mush. Yuck. The tomatoes didn't hold up so well either. I dumped the whole batch. Too bad, because I love eggplant and hated to waste it. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hockeymom214

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
This recipe is wonderful and soooo easy. I didn't think that I would like the cooked tomatoes, but it was delicious. I also added some mozzerella cheese and salt. I will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edinburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This was just OK for me. I liked the tomatoe, but the eggplant just didn't do it for me. I don't think I'd make it again. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metairie, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Gonzales, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This is a simple recipe and turned out just great. However, I would recommend the changes made by other reviewers. Don't take this at face value - treat it as something basic to be modified per your personal preferences. Here at my house, I mixed up some salt & pepper, garlic powder, and dried basil flakes to shake on top halfway through the baking. It was a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pennington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I thought the recipe was simple, but it wasn't enough. I cut the eggplant 1/4 pieces and added salt and pepper. I think it would have been better with fresh parmesan. I used grated parmesan cheese and added a little mozerella to the top. I found that I had to cook it for almost 25 minutes to soften the eggplants. My husband loved it. I thought it was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Made this recipe for a birthday party. While I didn't try it (I don't like tomatoes) they flew off the serving plate so I think they were a pretty big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
I did not care for this recipe. Mine looked like the picture, but tasted like a sponge. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
i just finished aking and eating this dish for the first time....after reading the reviews i took the advice of fellow recipes searchers and adding some basil, spinach, garlic powder, and used fresh parm cheese and topped it all off with a slice of fresh mozz......it was fabulous!!....the perfect easy sunday dinner when you dont feel like cooking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Not very good. Very bland. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States