Eggplant Tomato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Wonderful! You saved my family from having to eat yet another boring dinner tonight when I looked into the fridge and realised, "I have only eggplant and tomatoes... what do I do?!" and the cheese of course I luckily had as well~! Never would've thought of baking them together like this and it is SO SIMPLE and tastes SO GOOD! This will definitely be a regular at the dinner table now! I always love finding recipes that are quick, easy, healthy AND tastes great! Thank you!! ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Bland as-is. Definitely needs the extra seasonings recommended by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
This was a first for me to try, since I had some eggplant given to us by a neighbor. I followed the exact recipe, and it was just okay. After reading other suggestions, I will try to use olive oil to brush both sides of the eggplant, and use basil as suggested. I may even try to use regular parmesan cheese. But will try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
As is, I would give it a 3, but I took advice of previous raters and did a bit of basil and mozzerella. What really made it wonderful was garlic powder -a must. Took 20 min. in my oven. Don't even think about using canned powdered parmesean - use fresh, sharp, hard, grated cheese. I may skip the mozzerela next time because the garlic powder gave it what it truly needed. Thank you for a great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEATHER8470

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
This was fantastic!! I had never eaten eggplant before and was looking for a simple recipe. This fit the bill perfectly. I took some advice, but I put a little twist on it. I sprayed my pan w/non-stick spray, then I used Wishbone Italian Vinaigrette Salad Spritzers and sprayed one spray on top of the eggplant. I then used salt, pepper and italian seasoning (dried), layered w/the tomato, sprayed another spritz w/the dressing and topped w/1 tbsp of part skim mozzarella. Each piece came out to only 37 calories!!!! It tasted absolutely amazing. I will ABSOLUTELY make this again. Thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Scott loves this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Awesome..my first time doing any recipe with eggplant. I did the same with a light basting of olive oil and topping it all off with basil...yummy! What an incredibly quick and easy dish to do for yourself or a dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
This recipe was a BIG hit with the family! A couple pointers: use Italian eggplant, it's smaller and more tender, but the perfect size to pile vine tomatoes on. I brushed the eggplant with olive oil per other comments, the eggplant was very tender. I also put a sprinkle of mozzerella cheese on the top of the parmesean, it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by althee921

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
This recipe didn't turn out at all and I'm not sure what went wrong as I followed the directions. The eggplant was complete mush. Yuck. The tomatoes didn't hold up so well either. I dumped the whole batch. Too bad, because I love eggplant and hated to waste it. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAF1969

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
This recipe is wonderful and soooo easy. I didn't think that I would like the cooked tomatoes, but it was delicious. I also added some mozzerella cheese and salt. I will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edinburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

How to Cook Eggplant

Watch how to prepare and cook this extremely versatile vegetable.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States