Eggplant Tomato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
Don't underestimate this simple little recipe. It's delicious! Cover the entire pan with parmesan, and you'll get crunchy rich baked cheese "skirts" that you can fold over on top of the towers... so yummy! Goes great along side some pasta with marinara sauce. And, if you have a garden overflowing with eggplant and zucchini like I do, this is an easy awesome way to make use of God's blessings :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Granite Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
There is no way to go wrong with this. We like eggplant very tender. I baked it at 375 for about 45 minutes and then added pesto to some slices and marinara to others and topped with sliced roma tomato and a bit of mozarella and baked a bit longer. YUM!! Also some I dipped in egg wash and then panko and it was absolutely WONDERFUL! It is also good topped with spinach or basil or anything like a little pizza! So the recipe can be kept just as it is or played with cause it is so very very fun! And so much better than a soggy mess that my eggplant often comes out when I fry it and salt it and make it weep. This texture is perfect. I just need a bushel of eggplants now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Polly McMahon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I top it off with a slice of low moisture fresh mozzarella, it's quite not as healthy but is ridiculously yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
It was edible but very bland. Should have read the other reviews. Looks like a lot of people that rated it high were adding things to it. Won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TwistyMcSpliffit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ebeisel1120
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Great recipe! I added chopped fresh basil to the parmesan cheese and it came out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Really yummy! I made a few tweaks. I marinated the tomatoes overnight in balsamic vinaigrette and oregano. I also coated the eggplant with garlic butter and used mozzarella instead. It took about 5 minutes longer to cook but well worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This was really delicious. I did however, make a few minor adjustments after reading some reviews & for my own personal preference. I took the skin off of the eggplant and brushed on a little olive oil, sprinkled the eggplant with salt, pepper, and basil. Sprinkled with Parmesan cheese. Top with tomato and seasoned with pepper, salt, and basil and topped with mozzarella cheese. I baked for 25 minutes and served over pasta. It came out wonderful. My husband, mother-in-law, 6 yr. old step daughter, and 18 month old daughter, and I LOVED it! It will absolutely be making it again! Thank you for this excellent recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Great base recipe. I was always afraid to cook with eggplant because of the "salting" and moisture issues you read about, but I've made two variations of this in the last two weeks. This second time I cut it, put a little spoonful of no salt added tomato sauce on top, seasonings, put a slice of tomato on that, and then a slice of skim mozzarella on each round (half the eggplant is about 6 rounds, so I get 4 meals of out one eggplant and two tomatoes). I have also tried putting a little olive oil on each round and dusting it with bread crumbs, but without is MUCH better. The breadcrumbs just get soggy in the microwave. Thanks for posting this. It was so easy; I wish I had found it a long time ago!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Loved it .... after adding salt and pepper, pesto, and EVOO. Even though this added calories, it is still next-to-nothing calories. YUM. I think it's more like an appetizer. I left on the eggplant skin and baked at 400 degrees for 20 minutes was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Made this today. To get the eggplant a little softer, lightly brush the eggplant with olive oil.Going to peel the skin next time, and cut them thicker. Besides that little tweak, excellent idea. Easy, delicious, and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States