Eggplant Tomato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
I enjoyed the results of this recipe. It came out like a simple eggplant parm. Like others, I did find that I used more sauce and oil than specified, and I also used mozzarella instead of parmesan. I'd like to try it again adding in zucchini and mushrooms, perhaps breading and frying them, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Awesome recipe! All my kids, even middle child eggplant hater, ate it. I was surprised that only one previous reviewer mentioned that it takes much more oil to pan fry the eggplant - is there some trick not being mentioned by others that would help with this? I had to do a little cheese substituting for what I had - and the dish gets rave reviews all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magnificent7
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Quick and easy and very good. The eggplant is really good on its own panfried. I like the idea of baking a pasta sauce like this and making the noodles seperately; it worked really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
This was delicious over fresh sphagetti(angel hair) It was a hit in my house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
I made this one night and it was fantastic! One of the people that ate it said he never even knew he liked eggplant so much! My new mother-in-law told me how great a cook I was after eating this. It's a great feeling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
This dish turned out really well! It took a lot more oil to fry the eggplant. I also used the easy vegan pasta sauce from this site in it and it was really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
I love Eggplant Parm but this is my new version from now on! This is just awsome! We have lots of tomatos in our garden and the flavor of the fresh tomatos is just so good! The ricotta cheese makes this special too. I doubled the recipe and baked it in a 9x11 pan so we would have leftovers. The only other change I made was to use milk instead of water in the egg wash and omitted the flour in the coating, using only Italian bread crumbs. I will be making this again and again!Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
LOVE this recipe! My husband doesn't care for eggplant particularly and he loved it too. I would recommend doubling the amount of spaghetti sauce the recipe calls for. An average jar of spaghetti sauce is about 28 oz. I used a jar that size and it was barely enough in my opinion. Other than that the recipe is perfect. Highly recommended. I will surely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
We loved this! I did tweak the recipe a bit to fit what I had on hand. I already had wide egg noodles cooked so I layered my 9x13 pan with noodles, some sauce, my fried egg plant which I cooked to the recipe (Yummie!) then I put the ricotta mixture on top of the fried egg plant, topped that with more sauce and tomatoes and a bit of mozzerella cheese. It was like a eggplant lasanga. We had a lot left over for two of us but my husband ate the last bit for a snack and it was good till the last drop!! thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
Absolutely fabulous recipe! This is a basic recipe that can easily stand alone or you can add extra ingredients like mushrooms, chicken or beef, etc. 2 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Eggplant Lasagna

Layers of breaded roasted eggplant with ground beef, tomato sauce, and cheese.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States