Eggplant Tomato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Loved this! needed to use a tub of Ricotta; I oven broiled the breaded eggplant instead of frying (1 min. per side) & "sweat" the eggplant w/ salt before breading. To the breaading I added fresh garlic, fresh chopped scallions & I had a bunch of fresh parsley to use, so I threw that in too. Used only 1 egg & also threw some fresh baby spinach in the ricotta mixture. I woudl have never thought of this as a use for Ricotta - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly with one minor variation: I added some shredded mozzarella to the top layer. We all enjoyed it. Even my very very picky children enjoyed it. I will definitely make it again, however, I will substitute the ricotta with mozzarella - none of us are big fans of ricotta. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Good recipe but all of the sauce made it so mushy. I will make again as the flavor was incredible. Next time I will cook eggplant patties in pan and serve over pasta dish rather than baking it with sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
A good recipe if you really like Italian seasoning. I personally don't like the taste of rosemary and the Italian seasoning had a very strong rosemary taste to it so it overpowered the entire dish for me. The rest of the family really enjoed it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I made this dish for Thanksgiving (in addition to turkey as I'm a Veg) Everyone raved about it! I did leave out the ricotta cheese and replaced it with mozzarella. I made enough for 15 people. I had turkey left over but none of this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This was great. Was eating the fried eggplant slices faster than I could fry 'em. The only thing I added, and it is just a special touch was to use fresh basil leaves. I used an eggplant slice, ricotto cheese mixture, topped with another eggpant slice (like a sandwich), spread on some sauce, then arranged fresh basil leaves on in a flower pattern, 4-5 leaves, topped with a slice of fresh tomatoe then sprinkled on the parmesan. Can out very pretty with the basil leaves sticking out from under the tomatoe slice. We didn't need the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
My hubby said the best eggplant he's ever had, and all three kids ate it!!!So I did let it sweat for an hour, and I only had about 3/4c of bread crumbs, so I used plain panko for the other 1/4c, reduced the flour to 1/4 c also. I didn't have Italian seasoning, so I used a mixture I always use(garlic powder, onion salt,pepper, oregano and paprika- which I eye ball to my taste). I also used my own sauce and no ricotta, so I replaced it with mozz. and sprinkled basil on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Wasn't sure if I should give this a 4 or 5 stars. It was tasty, but not over the top amazing. It was my first time cooking with eggplant and I let it "sweat" and then baked it in the oven - 10 min on each side rather than fry it. When assembling the dish, I got to the last line that states to top with remaining cheese. I didn't have any remaining so I topped w/ shredded mozzarella. It was very tasty as I LOVE cheese. I did NOT like the tomatoes on top - not a fan of warm tomato slices, so I could have done without that, or I should have chopped and added to the sauce. I also didn't make as many noodles as called for, as the eggplant was practically a dish in itself. I used about 1oz of noodles for my serving. I enjoyed this and would consider making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I added another layer of eggplant on top of the cheese and topped with mozzerella. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly Chadwick
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This was an awesome dish! Of course I changed it up a bit (as I always do)...I had zucchini and so I used both it and the eggplant. I browned up some boneless, skinless chicken and laid in on top of the veggie layers before putting on the last of the sauce and cheese. Unfortuneatly, I didn't have the ricotta (I bet it would be even better with it...I did have shredded parmesan so thats what I used. I served it over regular garlic buttered spaghetti noodles. YUM YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Chadwick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Eggplant Lasagna

Layers of breaded roasted eggplant with ground beef, tomato sauce, and cheese.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States