Eggplant Supper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I'm making this for the second time tonight... It is fantastic as is... I change nothing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie Leonard-Garcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowell, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Other then using ground turkey and chicken broth, and leaving out the nutmeg (I don't care for it) I followed the recipe and it was very good. I think I will add some cabbage next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I didn't add celery, but this was simple, fast and super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
This was so awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I was a little skeptical, but this turned out amazing! I ended up having to use two skillets to cook all the ingredients and then switched it all over to a dutch oven before I added the pasta (I used mini farfalle). I added Italian seasoning and used fake ground beef, that morningstar crumbles stuff, and it came out really great -- and almost vegetarian, other than the beef broth. It was a huge hit with both me and my eggplant-neutral spouse. Next time I'll cook the carrots and celery a little longer. This is definitely going on the regular dinner rotation in the blxbrg household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cnreavis
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Like it. But i replaced the beef with chicken and chicken broth. Also added corn and green beans instead of onions and celery... Used what I had on hand. Very very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I love eggplant and always look for more ways to use it. I'm trying to keep carbs low so I skipped the macaroni and sugar, but this is excellent! I've also experimented using ground turkey instead of beef and I think half turkey and half beef is a pretty good compromise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This is a great, hearty soup. I peeled the eggplant. I made the noodles separately rather than in the soup itself. Truly, I preferred the soup alone, without noodles. I did add extra Italian seasonings -oregano and basil. This is best the second, or third day. The eggplant blends right in and you'd never think it was one of the components... Really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Park, Florida, USA
Living In: Green Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Words cannot describe how good and hearty this tasted. As a vegetarian, it's difficult to find a decent, filling soup so I was happy to have found this. Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Great tasting soup. Followed the recipe exactly. Even the 6year old grandson who is very picky loved it!. I do not say the word eggplant when they ask what's cooking. I just say hamburger soup. They have asked me at least once a week to make it. This soup is so easy even a beginner can make it! Tried it with leftover turkey and used chicken stock instead of beef, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States