Eggplant Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
My husband (who is a meat and potatoes man) loved this recipe exactly like it is and can't wait for us to have more eggplant in our garden ready so he can eat it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAJUNSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneva, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
ooooh this did not turn out for me! It was so disaterous that we have decided to enjoy eggplant when ordered out from now on. But for those of you who have more kitchen success, I'd suggest reducing the broiling time a bit, my eggplant was a bit... excessively crispy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cole Harbour, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Lower Sackville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
Mmmmm! I really liked this recipe. I did change a few things though. First of all, I would peel the eggplant. The skin on mine got a little tough after it was cooked, and slice the eggplant into 1/2-inch slices. When they're too thin, they do come out crispy! Instead of brushing with oil, I sprayed the slices with cooking spray and dusted with salt and pepper. I used light mayo and reduced the amount to cut calories. I added 1/4-1/2 tsp garlic powder instead of the garlic cloves because I was short on time. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
I thought this was one of the best sandwiches I have ever had! I followed the recipe. I did peel the eggplant and I think I would slice it thicker next time - but delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
YUMMY!! This was so good, and easy to make! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
Best thing I've had in a long time. I can't get enough. I even made ingredients without the bread the day after. Also used gorgonzola cheese or mozzarella since my husband doesn't care for feta. Without the bread I added red wine vinegar and olive oil in place of garlic mayo, and added roasted red pepper. Thanks for this recipe! The eggplant is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
These are the worst! The eggplant was so soggy, it reminded me of guacamole. You should try instead to microwave the eggplant for about 1 1/2 minutes, or until the centers are cooked, then melt margarine in a large skillet over medium heat and fry them until lightly toasted on each side. That's how it's done in the eggplant burger recipe on this site that's fantastic! They come out perfectly. If the eggplant hadn't been ruined, this recipe might've been good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
ummmm... this didn't turn out for me... it was pretty tasty but way to soggy and just not what I had expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
Very good, even with dried basil. I also used flatbread instead of French rolls and sliced the eggplant into 1/2" slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pesco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
My husband and I love this sandwhich....very tasty, very healthy, a great alternative to meat! We have made it three times in the past 2 months....yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States