Eggplant Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This is the most AMAZING sandwich ever! I crave it on an almost daily basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This would be great assembled as an appetizer as well. Next time I am going to cut up the Eggplant, tomato and basil into pieces because it kind of just falls all out when you take a bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I wanted to try this recipe but didn't expect to love it as much as I do!! I used cooking spray instead of olive oil and after a few minutes when I checked the status of the broiling eggplant, it looked dry so I sprayed some italian dressing on each slice. I also just sprinkled garlic salt on the rolls spread with mayo instead of mixing it together so I wouldn't have any wasted garlic mayo sitting around! I will make this again and again. We didn't even miss the meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Wonderful! With a garden producing eggplant faster than I can use it, I'm always looking for recipes. This is a keeper. To prevent sogginess, I sliced the eggplant, layed it on a paper towel, lightly salted, and topped with another towel. This pulls out the excess moisture. Thirty minutes later, I just rinsed and dried the slices, then proceeded with the recipe. I didn't have fresh tomatoes, so I used a bit of spaghetti sauce and served on regular toasted bread. My husband and teenage son both raved about this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I followed the original recipe, and it was one of the best sandwiches I have ever had. I will make it again often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This doesn't make them better, just easier. I used my Presto electric tabletop grill. Drizzled olive oil, grilled eggplant while slicing bread which then went on the same grill to brown. After the bread came off, added a touch more olive oil and cooked the pressed garlic on the grill. Then spread that garlic/oil mixture out and put the bread over it, cut side down, to brown some more. Meanwhile, still grilling eggplant. All got done at the same time, less to watch, less to clean. I did use half the mayo and guess what - turned the heat way down and kept the completed sandwiches warm as long as needed. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
These were delicious! I made homemade Vienna rolls (Joy of Cooking -- these are the best!) and used reduced fat feta and couldn't tell the difference at all. I didn't want to bother mixing the mayo and garlic in case I got too much mayo so I just spread a little minced garlic right on the sandwich. Unfortunately a recent bout of hail all but destroyed my basil, so we skipped it. I typically try to keep things healthy -- you know, replace oil with applesauce, white flour with home-ground whole wheat, etc. etc., but I am still a southern girl so I have an admission to make: I fried my eggplant. (After dipping in egg and then in flour). This was ONE GOOD SANDWICH! Sadly, it was only after the fact that I remembered that I actually have baked eggplant as an alternative to frying (Eggplant Parmesan) and it was still delicious, so next time I will bake this and see how it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
This recipe was really good. I made a few changes because I do not like mayo I I mixed olive oil, garlic and balsamic vinegar and lightly spread it over wheat flat bread instead of a hoggie roll. It was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vejigante

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Really a nice meatless treat, I grilled my eggplant on a penne grill and ended up grilling the whole thing, really, thank so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StableBoy
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
A fast, yummy, easy vegetarian sandwich, works for me! I did a striped peel on the eggplant, then lowered my broiler rack because I think it would have burned within the 10 minutes. I served it with provolone on wheat bread, that's what was on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States