Eggplant Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Made this for my vegetarian son who was home for the weekend. It was great! Even I liked it and I'm not a big eggplant fan. We used small hamb buns so did not cut the eggplant slices in half. Made the eggplant just as the recipe said and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
These were great! Made Denyse' "Garlic Butter" (from this site), spread over the rolls and toasted under the broiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JiNKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union City, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This is about the best sandwich ever! I am making it again tonight for the 2nd time (would have made it more often except for the heat from the oven! - this is the 105+ forever summer). The only thing I did different the 1st time was I took the advice of others and peeled and sweated. I was reviewing the reviews again tonight as I don't have any fresh basil so I am going to try the suggestion of dried in the mayo. Expect it to be FANTASTIC as before - but I do think the fresh is always the best option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcallen, Texas, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
This is soooo good. I put raspberry vinagar on mime. Good job Jamie. Very tasty. Nice recipe to get kids cooking and a great one to give in a basket with all the fixings for a thinking of you sort of gift. Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
YUM! I thought I had reviewed this already...I've made it twice in 2 weeks and it's delicious! The first time we just did eggplant with the garlic mayo on french rolls and the second time added the tomato and basil. I'm not a feta fan so I left that out and I wouldn't think it needs it. I did salt the eggplant and let it sit for about 15 minutes to get out excess moisture. I cut the eggplant into about 1/2 " slices and I started them out on the top rack under the broiler for the first 5 minutes, then moved them to the next rack for the next 5 minutes. Turned out great, no mushy or soggy eggplant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TorensMom2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Awesome tasty Eggplant sandwich, you really can't taste the eggplant so everyone in my family that hate eggplant still loved it. I am going to make this again for tomorrow. Thanks for sharing. Yummmy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Wow, these are awesome! So simple, yet so tasty!! The only change we made was to add some minched garlic to the mayo, but everything elese was perfect just as written! I can't wait to make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Me and my 12 year old daughter are crazy about this sandwiche . For those people who said the eggplant didn't turn out good. The key like the recipe says is to broil or grill it. The best meatless sandwich ever. Thank you:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meskerem Mekonnen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
EXCELLENT! Everything in this sandwich comes together so nicely and the flavors are just amazing together. I sweated the eggplant for a half hour or so, then sprayed with olive oil cooking spray and broiled. I didn't want raw garlic in the mayo and didn't want to take the time to roast or saute it, so I just used garlic powder instead. Also, 1/4 cup of mayo for 2 sandwiches seemed a bit excessive... I did about half of that. Absolutely fabulous.. I might make this again tomorrow! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
These were great! My meat loving husband really enjoyed them and told me to make them again and even my 3 year old liked them. I did peel, thinly slice, and grill the egg plant. I also grilled the bread just a bit too. The only thing I will do differently next time is a tad less garlic in the mayo. I doubled the recipe and I guess my cloves were really big b/c it had quite a garilc bite to it. My kids liked them as I said earlier, but did ask to not make it so spicy next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States